Reset Android 2.1 tablet

Discussion in 'Telechips TCC8902 Tablets' started by eroeurbano, Feb 8, 2011.

  1. xaueious

    xaueious Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,483
    Likes Received:
    436
    Trophy Points:
    222
    Location:
    Canada
    Tablet / Device:
    Asus Transformer TF300, Huwaei Ideos S7-104, HSG X5A, (Past APAD IMX515, APAD RK2808, RK2818 RT7)
    Reboot recovery might not work on some of these newer batches. I never got one of these newer ones to figure out why. For ADB, you need the funky TCC8902 drivers...

    If you could follow the ultimate guide, you might be able to use one of the recovery.img files located here Index of /experimental/20101212. Try X5A, X5A-G, or X6D depending on the version you have. Good luck.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  2. eroeurbano

    eroeurbano Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    70
    Tablet / Device:
    MID x5a
    Sorry but some things are like arabic for me :) what is the TCC8902 driver? Also, I can't understand the different kind of roms I find..
    what i the difference between the Clockwork and the adb one? Thanks for the helo and explanations!
     
  3. eroeurbano

    eroeurbano Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    70
    Tablet / Device:
    MID x5a
    Hi, I could finally manage to get adb running correctly.
    It was simply a matter of permission on Linux, I had to start it as root.
    Now my device is listed.
    Though when I run
    adb reboot recovery it doesn't reboot in recovery mode.
    I want to sell my tablet and need to Wipe all the data and reset it to the factory
    defaults.
    The "Reset factory data" in the settings menu doesn't work,
    can someone help me please?
    Cheers, -Luca
     
  4. Loonix

    Loonix Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    NULL
    plug in the USB cable, then select the 'factory reset' menu point in android.
    at least my pad needs that ^^

    I think if you want to sell it you should flash a fresh firmware using the 'low format full memory before download' option from FWDN.
     
  5. l_n

    l_n Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    99
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    TN, USA
    Tablet / Device:
    Mid7015
    in linux, you can do this to change adb to run setuid (i.e. run as the owner of the file):
    Code:
    chmod 4755 <filename>
     
  6. eroeurbano

    eroeurbano Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    70
    Tablet / Device:
    MID x5a
    I'd like to flash a new rom on my tablet, but apparently non of the guide I followed has worked.
    Or maybe I wasn't able to make them work properly.
    The bottleneck is that all require to run the tablet in "Recovery mode" but this doesn't work.
    Loonix I've tried both having the usb cable (debugging mode) linked both without.
    None of the two methods work.
    l_n to which filename I should apply the chmod command?
    adb now runs as root, so I should be able to perform any operation on the tablet.
    Thanks for the help guys!
     
  7. Loonix

    Loonix Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    NULL
    hmm, did you do something exotic to your pad?
    Like flashing android 2.2 and then applying clockworkmood recovery.

    To flash a new firmware you need a windows PC, i do not think you can use FWDN in WINE.

    via ADB you could try:
    ADB shell
    wipe data (or wipe all)
    but i have never tried that.
     
  8. eroeurbano

    eroeurbano Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    70
    Tablet / Device:
    MID x5a
    Hi Loonix.
    I'll try the wipe command (tonight I'm at work now) and see how it goes.
    The problem with the recovery mode is due to some recovery .img file not present in my tablet apparently.
    I tried to download the firmware from the telechip team in naobsd website but I couldn't understand how to install them.
    I'd need a step by step guide for my tablet saying:
    unzip the files x y and z into this folder
    run adb shell
    type the following commands
    link usb cable
    type this command and so on..

    Can someone link me to such a guide?
    For a newbie like me even to understand you need to run adb as root to connect to the device and issue commands
    has been quite complicated...
    Thanks a lot in advance,
    Cheers, -Luca
     
  9. rdm

    rdm Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Rio de Janeiro
    Tablet / Device:
    TCC 8902
    Man, i have a similar problem. I bought a tablet ( MI88 Aoron ) on ebay, ok. In the description of the product was saying, BRAND NEW, but when i got the tablet, it was used, and have a gmail account logged, and i can not delete this account, because i got error when i try remove ''you can only remove it by resetting the phone to factory defaults...'' . But when i try to follow the steps on the privacy, the tablet just shut down, quickly, and nothing happens. I put the code into the terminal ''REBOOT RECOVERY'', and again i just got the tablet powered off.
     
  10. eroeurbano

    eroeurbano Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    70
    Tablet / Device:
    MID x5a
    Hi RDM, I don't know your tablet, but as far as I've understood in our case we need to flash a new rom on the tablet in order to get the factory reset.
    The problem is that since the recovery mode doesn't work, as far as I have understood we need to find the file for the recovery mode to flash into the tablet.
    Also as I use Linux I will have to do this through ADB and Android SDK.
    If somehow I can succeed I'll let you know.
     
  11. rdm

    rdm Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Rio de Janeiro
    Tablet / Device:
    TCC 8902
    I understand, thank you for your explanation. But if i flash a new rom on the tablet, this flash have to be specific for my tablet, or it is for everyone? because, if have a specified flash for each tablet, I'm screwed because I do not found nothing on google about my tablet, nothing about nothing, just pictures =p....
    if i have any update with my case i will alert you.... if you get something, let me know too, please!
     
  12. eroeurbano

    eroeurbano Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    70
    Tablet / Device:
    MID x5a
    Unfortunately roms are quite tablet specific.
    However it seems your tablet has the same chip of mine, so maybe it might work.
    I guess you could go on the xda developers forum and ask there if someone can help you with this detail.
     
  13. rdm

    rdm Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Rio de Janeiro
    Tablet / Device:
    TCC 8902
    Ok, i will search something in this forum, thanks again. I'm noticing this will be difficult to make and can cause damage that will be difficult to reverse
     
  14. eroeurbano

    eroeurbano Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    70
    Tablet / Device:
    MID x5a
    The wipe all from adb shell worked for me!
    Rdm you need to setup android SDK on your computer (go on the Android developer site to set it up)
    and when it's working you need to run adb shell with root permissions.
    From the ADB shell
    type:
    wipe all
    it will clean ALL your data.
    When you restart it takes a bit longer and the android wizard starts.
    Cheers, -Luca
     
  15. rdm

    rdm Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Rio de Janeiro
    Tablet / Device:
    TCC 8902
    Eroeurbano Thanks for your reply, i will try this ! Hug
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
emergency reboot on tablet
,
g7 tab be reset option
,
how to format hug tablet
,
how to reformat hug tablet
,
how to reprogram android tablet
,
how to reprogram tablet android
,
hug tablet hard reset
,
mid x5a resets
,

reformat hug tablet

,
reformatting hug tablet