"Restore" Development options in 3245

Discussion in 'Gome Flytouch II Firmware' started by compupane, Mar 6, 2011.

  1. compupane

    compupane Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    Federal Way, WA
    Tablet / Device:
    ICAN! 10
    Like many of you, I have upgraded my tablet to the rockin' 3245 firmware and rooted it with UniversalAndroot. My tablet, though, has no functional GPS (that I can see), so I usually have mock locations enabled so it can use either my default location on Google Maps or I can use one of several location spoofing apps from the Android Market. With 3245 locking out the "Development" options, however, this was impossible and it thought I was somewhere in China (no offense to China, but it doesn't help me at all). It was making me mad and I wasted 2-3 hours last night trying to hack the properties. Then, after a little sleep, it dawned on me what to try and it worked! Here are the steps I took, but you might be able to do it with other launchers, I'm not sure:

    1. With LauncherPro installed & running (use something like "Home Switcher" to run LauncherPro w/o making it the default if you like), long tap on a blank area of a home screen to bring up the "add" menu
    2. Tap "Shortcuts"
    3. Scroll down & tap "Activities"
    4. (A blank screen may appear for 20+ seconds while it builds your list of available apps and activities they make available)
    5. Scroll down to "Settings" and tap to expand it
    6. Find "Development" and tap it (note: the list under "Settings" is NOT alphabetical, so keep scrolling until you find "Development")
    7. Name the shortcut whatever you like (or leave it as "Development") and tap OK
    8. Viola! Tap the new icon, turn on any of the three options you want and reboot for confirmation that they "stick"
     
    Last edited: Mar 14, 2011
    • Like Like x 10
  2. Biotic

    Biotic Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    526
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Tablet / Device:
    HTC ONE, Droid Razr, Galaxy Tab3, LexiBOOK
    Omg... is that really the solution? I feel dumn lol.

    I guess its not dissabled then, its just hidden
     
  3. compupane

    compupane Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    Federal Way, WA
    Tablet / Device:
    ICAN! 10
    It happens to the best of us! :)
     
  4. Biotic

    Biotic Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    526
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Tablet / Device:
    HTC ONE, Droid Razr, Galaxy Tab3, LexiBOOK
    So z4root is still useable then? If this is the case

    Sent from my sdk using Android Tablet Forum App
     
  5. compupane

    compupane Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    Federal Way, WA
    Tablet / Device:
    ICAN! 10
    I haven't tested z4root yet but I'll try that later. I do know that Maps now places me at my default Google Maps location thanks to "mock locations."
     
  6. compupane

    compupane Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    Federal Way, WA
    Tablet / Device:
    ICAN! 10
    Just did a fresh 3245 install and can confirm that z4root worked after using my process in #1.
     
  7. Biotic

    Biotic Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    526
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Tablet / Device:
    HTC ONE, Droid Razr, Galaxy Tab3, LexiBOOK
    Good to know
    Thank you

    Sent from my sdk using Android Tablet Forum App
     
  8. nunosilv

    nunosilv Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Portugal
    Tablet / Device:
    WAW Superpad
    Tried it and it's so simple that it hurts.:)

    Nice job
     
  9. compupane

    compupane Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    Federal Way, WA
    Tablet / Device:
    ICAN! 10
    Thanks! Sometimes over-thinking an issue gets us nowhere. :)
     
  10. justfor

    justfor Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Tablet / Device:
    Flytouch2
    Dear all,
    is the described option really working ?
    I simply did not(!) get the development option shown.

    What i have done:
    I have tried it on my flytouch2 with ROM3245 and with two different Launchers.
    Settings are ok and are shown, but there was no Development on the screen.
    I checked it also with english language, as my primary language is german - it did not show up.

    I tried also the other option with echo 1 > /data/property/persist.service.adb.enable
    Still not working.

    Any ideas ?

    Thanks a lot!
     
  11. compupane

    compupane Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    Federal Way, WA
    Tablet / Device:
    ICAN! 10
    My process does not make the option appear in "Settings," but it creates a direct shortcut to the otherwise hidden options.
     
  12. justfor

    justfor Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Tablet / Device:
    Flytouch2
    Dear compupane,
    Uups - I realized now my misunderstanding after re-reading your description.
    First select Activities and then select Settings.
    Your description in the first post was and is perfect.
    Thanks a lot
     
  13. compupane

    compupane Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    Federal Way, WA
    Tablet / Device:
    ICAN! 10
    No problem...I tried to be as detailed as possible. :)
     
  14. maverik410

    maverik410 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    hfds
    Tablet / Device:
    FT2
    thank you so simple if you you know what your doing .......
     
  15. Richardo Crispus

    Richardo Crispus Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Tablet / Device:
    Gome Flytouch II Aka Wowpad
    Works for me! Thanks dude! Finally able to restore via titanium backup

    Thanks again,
    Richardo
     

Share This Page