Ripping Videos from DVD to the Acer - Solved

Discussion in 'Acer Tablets' started by dan776, May 6, 2011.

  1. EZguy

    EZguy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500
    I am exhausted after reading through this entire thread. I guess I don't get it. Wouldn't it be a lot easier to just download the movie from Amazon to your A500?
     
  2. AQ_OC

    AQ_OC Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Greenville, SC
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer A500
    If you're not into ripping DVDs and blu-rays, I'd try Google first for movie downloads. Has anyone confirmed that Amazon will let you download a movie and will it play on the Tab? Personally, I can't see paying a rental to download to my tablet, but I have other viable options.
     
  3. Wall

    Wall Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Tablet / Device:
    Iconia a500
    The question is where doyou download movies?
     
  4. Reese1ar

    Reese1ar Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    70
    Location:
    Michigan
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer a500
    Wanted to get some thoughts on this. Having issues with clearfi with movies showing up after I rip them. Sometimes they show up right away, other times I have to screw with it forever. Seems to be the problem is that they are not showing up in my WMP Library either. I add the containing folder and it shows all the other films I've ripped except the two I'm having issues with. The ONLY thing I've changed on occasion is the bitrate for keeping around a certain file size. This is a reoccuring issue with some movies. When I eventually get it to work by luck it seems, then they show up. I have the folders shared on my network. I suppose I can dump them on a flashdrive, but it's easier to stream when at home.
     
  5. AQ_OC

    AQ_OC Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Greenville, SC
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer A500
    Sounds as if you WMP database is getting corrupted it. I've had this problem too. You can find a setting deep inside that will force WMP to rebuild the database, but be warned, if you have a lot of music files, pictures and videos it would take a nice long time.
     
  6. Reese1ar

    Reese1ar Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    70
    Location:
    Michigan
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer a500
    Thanks. I don't mind the wait. I can just let it go over night. BUT I hate WMP. The interface is AWFUL! The only thing I don't like with clearfi is that it seems you have to have the files in your WMP library in order to have them visible. Or is there another way?

    Okay, so I removed the folder from the library. Jumped through the settings again to find the right location, then re added. (I've done this before several times and it didn't work, but it decided to work this time) Noticed the icon had a lock on it. But then added it, and now they all show up again and are accessible.
     
  7. AQ_OC

    AQ_OC Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Greenville, SC
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer A500
    I would imagine it can be done some other way....though I have not attempted to do so yet....I'm not to happy with WMP either for this very reason (buggy database). If you can find some Win7 program that provides similar function then that would be a way to achieve this. Itunes does it but only for iOS devices. WMP is really just linking into Win7 DLNA services.
     
  8. jcook42

    jcook42 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Tablet / Device:
    Iconia Tab A500
    This is all fantastic! My question may be naive, but I have movies on the tablet memory (sdcard). Is there any way to move them directly to the external_sd on the Acer? Or is this a Honeycomb issue that I read about on another thread?
    I have tried to copy and paste them, but the external_sd appears inaccessible.

    Thanks!
     
  9. Icebike

    Icebike Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,523
    Likes Received:
    186
    Trophy Points:
    310
    What do you mean appears inaccessible?

    Get ES file explorer free from the market.
    Copy from sdcard and paste to /mnt/external_sd, all done on the tab.
     
  10. jcook42

    jcook42 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Tablet / Device:
    Iconia Tab A500
    Sorry, I copy the movies (from the tablet memory) to try move them, but when I get to the sd card, "paste" isn't an option. when I try to read any files that should be on the card, it says the directory is empty. I've been using Astro as my file manager.
     
  11. Icebike

    Icebike Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,523
    Likes Received:
    186
    Trophy Points:
    310
    If source and target are the same directory it will never show you the paste option.

    The part you might be missing is that sdcard refers to the build in memory
    and external_sd refers to your add-in microSD card. (Stupid names, but what can I say).

    Lets assume you have a Movies directory on the SD card.
    the complete path will be /sdcard/Movies

    Then lets assume you want another Movies directory on the External_SD card.

    In ES File Explorer
    Tap the symbol that looks like a microSD card. (This takes you out of /sdcard into the root of the tablet, the url bar says only a single slash. The microsd card symbol changes to a house which indicates if you tap it again you will go home).
    Tap the mnt sub-directory. URL bar shows /mnt
    Tap External_SD URL bar now says /mnt/external_sd
    Hit the hashed window symbol in the bottom of the tablet (the menu icon)
    Tap + (new)
    Select Folder
    Give it a Name (may want to use MoviesSD just to preserver your sanity)

    Now, Tap the House (icon changes back to a microsd card)
    Tap the Movies directory
    Long press a movie to select it, and tap Copy (to select multiple, first hit the plus sign sitting on two documents under the word LAN, then tap each movie)
    Tap the MicorSD icon again
    Select /mnt
    Select External_sd
    Select MoviesSD (URL bar shows /mnt/external_sd/MoviesSD
    Tap hashed menu at bottom
    Tap operation
    Tap Paste
    Done.

    PS: I used to use Astro, but it was so crash prone I switched to ES File Explorer. So you will have to translate from the astro to the ES.
     
    Last edited: Jul 21, 2011
  12. HarshReality

    HarshReality Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Indiana
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer A500
    I admit to a sense of irony.. You are using a windows based program to rip a video to play it on a linux based system.
     
  13. elsuirad

    elsuirad Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    195
    Location:
    Currently on KSA
    Tablet / Device:
    SAMSUNG S5 Mini
    I used Xilisoft for converting medias (Audio and Video) to any format.
     
  14. SexyNavy

    SexyNavy Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Tampa
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500 Tab
    To Dan776,
    You know your stuff! Just last night I was trying to use DVD fab to convert a DVD to my Acer. I found some other blog sites that said to use Foxreal or DVD Fab MPG4/H264/Ipad options. I ran the MPG4 for darn near 3 hours only to find out that it wouldn't work. The video was skipping on the tablet. Then I did some more google searches today & found your instructions. It converted much faster (less than 1.5 hrs). At first, I tried playing the movie in one of the pre-installed players & got nothing. I downloaded the MoboPlayer and still wasn't getting anything. Finally, I got it to play but I wasn't getting any sound. I was almost discouraged. But all I did was restart the tablet, tried again & BAM! The movie played without skipping & the sound was crystal clear! This couldn't have come at a better time. I really needed this to work so I would have something to watch on the plane. Now with 4 movies loaded, I'm ready to go.

    THANKS AGAIN DAN!!!!!!
     
  15. omar_minshawi

    omar_minshawi Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer A500
    I had the same issue and was wondering if anyone has a solution.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
dvd ripper for iconia one android tablet
,
dvdfab for android
,
forbitrate tablet
,
free acer dvd ripper
,
how do youripp a dvd on an acer
,
how to rip movies to tablet using dvdfab 9
,
i can not get handbrake to work on my acer
,

rip dvd

,
tablet free dvdfab