Root after 3.1 update

Discussion in 'Acer Iconia Tab A500 Forum' started by strider_mt2k, Jul 19, 2011.

  1. strider_mt2k

    strider_mt2k Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Messages:
    406
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Southern New Jersey, USA
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500
  2. jhelms4461

    jhelms4461 Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
  3. strider_mt2k

    strider_mt2k Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Messages:
    406
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Southern New Jersey, USA
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500
    No, but it might not be permanent either.
    I had to re-root yesterday to drop in the Ad Hoc supplicant file.
     
  4. ChiTriGuy

    ChiTriGuy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500
    Where did you find the supplicant file? I have a 286kb one and a 273kb one and neither one worked for me to do Ad Hoc.
     
  5. CenturionFive

    CenturionFive Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    NULL
    I rooted it in less than 5 minutes. I wish Clockwork Recovery worked...
     
    Last edited: Jul 22, 2011
  6. deedub

    deedub Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2011
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer A500
    Take a look at Acer Recovery on the Android Market. It has Clockwork Recovery, I have made a couple of backups with it, works great.
     
  7. km58501

    km58501 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    United States
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia
    I installed Acer Recoverybut when I hit "Boot Into Recovery" I just end up at the green android with a ! in the middle. How do I get to the recovery menu?
     
  8. deedub

    deedub Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2011
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer A500
    Try this if Acer Recovery is installed:

    1. Shut off the A500
    2. Turn it back on by holding the volume control in the down position and the power button simultaneously
    3. Keep holding the two buttons for a couple of seconds until you see the special Clockwork messages start to appear in the upper left corner of the tab's screen
    4. Release the two buttons. You should see a small menu come up with options like "wipe cache", "recovery", "install .zip from SD", etc.
    6. Use the volume control to move up and down the selections
    7. To select what you want to do, press power
    8. There are always selections to go back or simply boot the device if you decide not to preform any of the functions

    Hope this works for you, good luck
     

Share This Page