Rooted my 1125!

Discussion in 'Coby Generation 2 Technical' started by Kayhold, Dec 10, 2011.

  1. Kayhold

    Kayhold Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    NULL
    Last edited: Dec 10, 2011
  2. dbeauch

    dbeauch Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    Nashua, NH
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros MID1042
    yup, works perfectly, and you can certainly use the default Android driver that comes with SuperOneClick
     
  3. paulonsf

    paulonsf Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    RECIFE
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros 1125
    Hi,

    Does anybody that have a coby 1125 with a CWM , UPLOAD the imagem from your coby 1125. I bricked mine coby try to install a new room. I am needed the recovery.img, boot.img, system.img, to try to recovery my coby.

    I had made my files imagem but think that some thing is wrong, because its does work.

    tks a lot
     
  4. Omphaloskepsis

    Omphaloskepsis Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    LA
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros 1125, HTC Evo 4G
    I used SuperOneClick 2.3.3 to root my new 1125 and it reported that it worked and seemed to root it.

    However, /System/build.prop is not actually editable (can't save out, it's read-only) even after running
    the Mount System rw/ro app (setting /System to read/write). (Trying to change LCD density to get more
    apps in the Market)

    Also, Titanium Backup Pro won't run because it says that although BusyBox runs, "su" doesn't actually
    elevate to root, so it can't do what it needs.

    It seems like SuperOneClick *acts like* it roots a 1125, but doesn't truly do it. Anyone know about this?
     
  5. lfom

    lfom Senior Member Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,387
    Likes Received:
    240
    Trophy Points:
    162
    Location:
    Brasil
    IIRIC it has two roots: shell and full. You need to sheel root first, then get full root.

    paulonsf has a nice tutorial about how to root 1125, did you try it?
     
    • Like Like x 2
  6. Omphaloskepsis

    Omphaloskepsis Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    LA
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros 1125, HTC Evo 4G
    I did try doing a "shell root" first, then "full root" - no difference.

    Next thing to try is the paulonsf ADB rooting tutorial to see if that works - thanks.

    I wonder whether anyone running SuperOneClick to root an 1125 has actually succeeded, or if they just think it worked (since it reports success).
     
  7. vampirefo.

    vampirefo. Senior Member Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    3,828
    Likes Received:
    1,389
    Trophy Points:
    655
    Location:
    Huntington WV
    Tablet / Device:
    Leagoo Lead 1 ZTE OPEN C, Coby 7065, Coby 8042, Coby 9740
    What makes you think you aren't rooted? I use manual root myself, from just reading your posts you did nothing to see if you are rooted or not, you didn't go into Titanium Backup Pro preferences and select use system busybox, you more than likely tried to use es file explorer which doesn't allow root access on 1125.
     
  8. Omphaloskepsis

    Omphaloskepsis Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    LA
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros 1125, HTC Evo 4G
    @vampirefo, you seem to be combining two things: Titanium Backup Pro & the attempt to edit build.prod.

    It's true that I tried to edit build.pro by running ES File Explorer to get to build.pro then use ES Note Editor
    to edit the file - then that won't save. (I talk about this in another thread:
    http://www.androidtablets.net/forum...l-root-cant-edit-system-files.html#post177242 )

    But I haven't been able to edit the file any other way either.

    And I have now done as you so kindly suggested and selected "Force system BusyBox" in the
    Titanium preferences - now when I run Titanium Backup Pro I get:

    "Sorry, I could not acquire root privileges. This application will *not* work. Please verify
    that your ROM is rooted and includes BusyBox, and try again."

    Even after unchecking "Force system BusyBox" in preferences I now get that so it is, in fact,
    even worse than before.

    I will be doing the paulonsf manual rooting method soon to see if that roots it, but at this point I'd
    still say SuperOneClick did not actually root the 1125.
     
  9. vampirefo.

    vampirefo. Senior Member Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    3,828
    Likes Received:
    1,389
    Trophy Points:
    655
    Location:
    Huntington WV
    Tablet / Device:
    Leagoo Lead 1 ZTE OPEN C, Coby 7065, Coby 8042, Coby 9740
    Perhaps for you it didn't work for some reason, I don't know never used the app myself, but a lot of people use it and they have root, the app does work.

    This method is similar to what do.

    http://www.androidtablets.net/forum...31566-howto-root-kyros-7125-a.html#post176387

    For myself though I just

    /data/local/tmp/zergRush

    Then I pull the recovery.img and boot.img from the tablet, unpack the boot.img change the permissions to force adb administrator privilege eg #

    then unpack recovery.img load my recovery, repack recovery.img flash booth in fastboot, then in recovery flash the market_root.zip I created, this install the apps needed for market plus root.
    many ways to do what you want.
     
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2012
  10. Omphaloskepsis

    Omphaloskepsis Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    LA
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros 1125, HTC Evo 4G
    I did successfully root my 1125 using the method paulonsf gives in http://www.androidtablets.net/forum/android-tablet-q/28483-tutorial-how-root-coby-kyros-1125-a.html
    Thanks!

    And after updating Titanium Backup Pro and forcing it to use the system busybox (which I installed separately) it works. Also now able to run "LCD Density" to change
    the resolution which is a very nice thing to be able to do.

    For $200, this is turning out to be a pretty nice tablet.
     
  11. harrymcqueen

    harrymcqueen Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Hi.
    Did anyone try to root the MID1125 after the JB upgrade? For me it didn't work.
     
  12. harrymcqueen

    harrymcqueen Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    I finally made it using a couple of files/apks of archive: JB_root_Coby_MID1125.rar

    Now i must wait for a working wpa_supplicant to connet to ad-hoc networks beeing available...
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
coby kyros tablet mid1125 root
,
kyros 1125 4g img
,
mid1125 rar
,

mid1125 root

,
root coby kyros mid1125