Rooting after HC 3.1 update

Discussion in 'Acer Iconia Tab A500 Forum' started by danielg5, Jul 8, 2011.

  1. danielg5

    danielg5 Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    Virginia
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia Tab a500
    I am wondering if anyone has rooted their tablets successfully after the new HC 3.1 update. I used Gingebreak before the update with no problems, but I haven't seen anything on this since the update started coming out. There are just a few apps that I use that require the tab to be rooted, and i would like to get their functionality back. Thanks.
     
  2. deedub

    deedub Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2011
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer A500
    I have rooted my A500 since updating to 3.1. Gingerbreak will not work. I used Iconiaroot which I downloaded from the XDA Forum to my PC, then moved it to my A500 via Drop Box. It installed perfectly from Drop Box.

    Once I had root I went to the Android Market and downloaded/installed Acer Recovery. It has Clockwork Recovery built into it. The first thing I did once CWR was installed was to create a recovery image of my fresh 3.1 install and that went perfectly.

    Now I'm ready to move to custom ROMs :)
     
  3. robdroid

    robdroid Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    USA
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color
  4. spexwood

    spexwood Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500 tab & Sony Ericsson Xperia X10a
    There is actually a 1.3 version now :S (new to me).
    Download that one instead of 1.2 I guess. Same link as robdroid posted though.
     
  5. urdaddi

    urdaddi Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    I installed that Acer Recovery, but being the noob I am I have no clue how to use it. When running, it gives an option of rebooting into recovery. Can you provide instructions as to how to use this?
     

Share This Page