Rooting the a500 with Gingerbreak for wireless tethering..

Discussion in 'Acer Iconia Tab A500 Forum' started by HD87, May 19, 2011.

  1. HD87

    HD87 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    US
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500 tab
    how long does it take? been waiting for atleast 20 mins..
    states GingerBreak
    Rooting...
    This may take a few minutes !
    Device will reboot on success !

    well afew minutes is an understatement.. anyone done this before? how long did it take for ya'll? what if it never ends?
     
  2. Raven312

    Raven312 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    325
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Chicago
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500
    Start it over. Make sure you're locked in portrait mode. It should root in 3-10 mins. Before you start the process over, run rootcheck (from the market) and make sure that it didn't take. If it did, install Busybox and move through the rest of the steps...
     
  3. Icebike

    Icebike Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,523
    Likes Received:
    186
    Trophy Points:
    310
    lm confused, why would you have to root a wifi only tab for tethering?
     
  4. Samoa Joe

    Samoa Joe Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    70
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    Tablet / Device:
    ROOTED Acer Iconia A500
    It doesn't support ad-hoc, along with the xoom. I have no idea why, pretty confusing if you ask me! I rooted mine just be able to tether my iPhone to it.

    -Joe.
     
  5. HD87

    HD87 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    US
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500 tab
    Sorry let me clarify. Im using my Android handset to tether the internet connection to my Iconia Tab. Got my phone rooted and the "Wireless tether App", finally rooted the Iconia tab, changed the WPA_Suplicant file in Root Explorer system/bin, now able to see Wireless connection from my phone, but when trying to connect it states its Obtaining IP address... and it just keeps refreshing and attempting. any suggestions? thanks for the help.
     
  6. Icebike

    Icebike Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,523
    Likes Received:
    186
    Trophy Points:
    310
    So root the zoom and make it offer a real infrastructure access point.
    Makes much more sense.
     
  7. Icebike

    Icebike Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,523
    Likes Received:
    186
    Trophy Points:
    310
    Is your phone one like Joe mentions above that only does ad-hoc?

    If so you have to set the ip manually because there is no dhcp server in ad-hoc.
     
  8. HD87

    HD87 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    US
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500 tab
    Aha.. thanks Icebike good point. it is on DHCP. I have a Cricket Huawei Ascend. so what would I input into the static info? its asking for an IP address, Gateway, Network Prefix length, DNS servers 1 & 2, where would I find that info? inside the wireless tether app?
     
  9. Icebike

    Icebike Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,523
    Likes Received:
    186
    Trophy Points:
    310
    Start with the tether App, and increment the ip up by one from what ever is in there. Dns server can be 8.8.8.8. You only need one.
     
  10. HD87

    HD87 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    US
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500 tab
    so in the wireless tether app it gives me different options for different IP addresses. going with the default 192.168.1.0/24, its going to assign the tablet is own IP address. but I wont know what that address is till it connects. so once I get the IP address.. exp. 192.168.1.13 / default gateway would be 192.168.1.0? i assume.. next is the network Prefix Length.. telling me it needs 13 characters? no sure what thats referring to. and Ill input that 1st DNS server.
     
  11. Icebike

    Icebike Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,523
    Likes Received:
    186
    Trophy Points:
    310
    Prefix length is another way of saying network mask. Use 255.255.255.0
    But again, if your phone is not supporting dhcp services, it won't assign any ip to the tablet.
    You will have to do that yourself. Just use 192.168.1.3
    Your default gateway will be the ip of the phone. Unlikely to end in zero.
     
  12. HD87

    HD87 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    US
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500 tab
    so I found my phones IP address is 10.115.101.5* / so I input static IPv4 address 192.168.1.13 into the wifi connection on the tablet. on my phone I have the wireless LAN setting at 192.168.1.0/24, network prefix is set to 255.255.255.0, DNS 1 8.8.8.8, still no access, and when I connect it states its connected but also stating I must enter prefix between 0-30, which should be the subnet mask 255.255.255.0, is that right?
     
  13. Icebike

    Icebike Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,523
    Likes Received:
    186
    Trophy Points:
    310
    Ok, above you said the prefix had to be 13 characters, now you say it wants 0 to 30. ???
    Use 24. (which means the same thing as 255.255.255.0). It depends on what is expected in that field. Primer on this stuff is here.

    Gateway is probably 192.168.1.1
     
  14. HD87

    HD87 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    US
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500 tab
    you mentioned the default gateway would be the phones IP address. The Wireless Tether App lets me choose different address under LAN. so inputting IPv4 192.168.3.13 default gateway 192.168.3.1 network prefix 24 DNS 1 8.8.8.8, connects, not getting that network prefix message but still not able to go online.
     
    Last edited: May 20, 2011
  15. Icebike

    Icebike Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,523
    Likes Received:
    186
    Trophy Points:
    310
    The default gateway should be the IP address that the Wireless tether app uses for WIFI interface on the PHONE.

    The 10.15.101.5 is probably the IP address for your 3G interface. That is what you meant to say, right????

    On the tablet, try an IP number closer to the Phone's WIFI IP, such as one higher. (192.168.2.2).

    (This is SO much easier on a Nexus One. Not that it helps you out...)
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

gingerbreak rooting taking forever