Rooting

Discussion in 'Android Tablet Usage, Tips & Tricks' started by mattls, Dec 22, 2010.

  1. mattls

    mattls Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    Tablet / Device:
    Archos 70 Internet Tablet
    I have no idea what rooting is. Can someone explain in a way that i might understand?
     
  2. tae254

    tae254 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Houston Texas
    Tablet / Device:
    SYNET7LP
    Rooting is pretty much opening up the devices OS so that you have complete control over whats on it. If there are system applications that you don't use but are just taking up space, rooting the device will let you delete those applications. Rooting also lets you install custom Roms (if they are available). Pretty much you have total control over your device and its not locked down.
     
  3. mattls

    mattls Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    Tablet / Device:
    Archos 70 Internet Tablet
    Doea getting the marketplace involve rooting?
     
  4. tae254

    tae254 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Houston Texas
    Tablet / Device:
    SYNET7LP
    Yes, you have to be rooted in order to do any hacks to your device.
     
  5. gurgle

    gurgle Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,463
    Likes Received:
    130
    Trophy Points:
    162
    Location:
    Near 39.11°N 94.6°W
    Tablet / Device:
    Better question What don't I own, Oh a generic APAD
    You do not need Root to install Market for Archos is about the only exception
     
  6. tae254

    tae254 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Houston Texas
    Tablet / Device:
    SYNET7LP
    Oh i didnt know that.. thanks for filling me on on that.
     
  7. mattls

    mattls Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    Tablet / Device:
    Archos 70 Internet Tablet
    So how would you install it on an Archos product?
     
  8. gurgle

    gurgle Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,463
    Likes Received:
    130
    Trophy Points:
    162
    Location:
    Near 39.11°N 94.6°W
    Tablet / Device:
    Better question What don't I own, Oh a generic APAD
    Quite simply, you download and install an app called gApps4Archos.apk or gAppsInstaller_v4.apk depending on Firmware or Android version. Search and research. It is NOT that hard.
     
Similar Threads
  1. tonysojam
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    1,564
  2. Myedgh
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    1,477
  3. GoSmokeMore
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    1,485
  4. trouble7636
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    3,024
  5. DonSchaeffer
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    945
Loading...

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

doea there any problem if i root my android tablet

,

rooting the contxo q 102 tablet