Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 Automatically Reboots After Shutting Down

Larryy83

Mar 24, 2013
Hi everyone. I am writing this post on behalf of my wife who owns a Galaxy Tab 2 10.1. When she turns the unit off, it automatically reboots back on again and this problem just started occurring right after a major update (I assume the update was to 4.2 jelly bean from 4.1). I have searched the internet for issues like this from other users and what I'm reading is that the machine should be reset to factory defaults. Is there any way that I can downgrade back down to JB 4.1? Thank you for any responses in advance as I am fairly new at tablets. :p

SEMIJim

Aug 20, 2011
A downgrade back to 4.1.1 would require a data and cache clear (essentially a factory reset), anyway, so try a factory reset, first. (But first back up any data/files, such as photos, music, etc., beforehand.) It's not uncommon to have to do an FR after an OS upgrade.

Alternatively: How to downgrade from Jelly Bean 4.2.2 to 4.1.1 - Android Forums

Or dump Samsung's crappy software entirely and install CyanogenMod. That's what I did, Friday night. So far I'm quite pleased with the results. My wife did the Samsung 4.2.2 "upgrade" to her Tab 2 10.1 and likes it not. If I'm still happy with CM in another week, we'll install a couple games she likes on my tablet to make sure they work correctly and, if so, it'll be "bye-bye bloated, bug-ridden, security-vulnerability-riddled, generally crappy Samsung software" for her, too.

Jim

SEMIJim

Aug 20, 2011
Semijim, does the ir blaster work with cm?
No. It allegedly did with a previous release, but not as of 10.1.x. 10.1.x is actually the P5110 ROM, which is a P5113 w/o the IR blaster.

I didn't care, because, IME and opinion: The Peel remote application was all but worthless. Even had that not been the case: The IR Blaster on my Vizio VTAB1008 was actually kind of all right, and I never used it, anyway.

Jim

Johna2u

May 21, 2011