Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 vs Google Nexus 7

Keepitreal21

Oct 29, 2012
I'm new to the tablet world, and I would like to get a 7 inch tablet for Christmas. After a lot of research, I have it narrowed down to either the Samsung Galaxy tab 2 or the Nexus 7 & as I want to keep the price around 200 dollars. I am still unsure, The Nexus is superior in technology and performance but the memory is not expandable, many apps are not compatible, it does not support flash, and it seems that they are having issues of breaking. With the Tab 2 the tech is older so its rougher and slower, but has expandable memory, supports flash, and doesnt seem to come with as many potential problems. So yeah I am really not sure. What do you guys think?

J515OP

Super Moderator
Staff member
Jan 6, 2011
Generally speaking you should go with a newer tablet over an older one. Flash is an ongoing issue and getting an older tablet doesn't mean you will always have Flash that works (you have to be very careful of updates in that case). External storage can be an issue but unless you are adverse to using cloud storage options and really think you need the physical option I don't think that alone makes the Tab 2 compelling over the Nexus 7 with 16GB. I would have a hard time recommending the Tab 2 over the Nexus 7 at the same price but if you could get a Tab 2 for $50 or more off of the $200 price and really need the SD card then it becomes more competitive.

Keepitreal21

Oct 29, 2012
Do you still recommend the nexus 7 even with the build quality issues? I heard many say that they took the nexus 7 back because of broken pixels and the screen coming off the bezel, and I went to Staples yesterday and they said that they have had a lot of returns on the nexus because of issues. I just want to make sure I get something that will last.

J515OP

Super Moderator
Staff member
Jan 6, 2011