Saving in MicroSD

Discussion in 'Coby Generation 3 Technical' started by manekineko, Dec 1, 2012.

  1. manekineko
    Offline

    manekineko Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2012
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby MID8042
    Hi everyone and to our devs. :) i want to ask how to save in the MicroSD, especially the apps. I'm running out of internal memory. I just want to clear out from our devs if I need to edit volt.fstab or edit the permissions in platform.xml so that I can install/save using the MicroSD.

    thank you so much! ;)
  2. leeshor
    Offline

    leeshor Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,989
    Likes Received:
    928
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    Tablet / Device:
    Transformer TF700
    Generally speaking, without a whole lot of trouble, tablets cannon save apps to SD cards and it was not designed to do that. You may consider using the cloud, Google Drive or DropBox to move some "stuff"
    • Like Like x 2
  3. manekineko
    Offline

    manekineko Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2012
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby MID8042
    thank you for that one, leeshor. :)

    if i move the apps or whatever to the MicroSD, are they still readable for the device?
  4. leeshor
    Offline

    leeshor Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,989
    Likes Received:
    928
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    Tablet / Device:
    Transformer TF700
    There's the rub. Without rooting and some serious modifying of the Android OS you can't move them anyway. The primarey reasons are because the SD card is not standard on tablets where it is on most phones, and the naming convention changes from tablet to tablet. If I COULD move them I wouldn't.
    • Like Like x 2
  5. manekineko
    Offline

    manekineko Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2012
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby MID8042
    I see...though my device is rooted and I have ClockworkMod installed in it, I thought MicroSD in tablets are plug-and-play just like in mobile phones. The internal memory is way too small and that's sad...
  6. Traveller1701
    Offline

    Traveller1701 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    791
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros MID9742, Dell Streak 5
    WARNING: Editing vold.fstab only works on Coby tablets with an Allwinner CPU. Attempting this modification on tablets running a VI Micro or Telechips CPU will brick the tablet!

    Make sure you have a nandroid backup stored somewhere before you do this. You have to edit both platform.xml and vold.fstab.

    Edit platform.xml and change the WRITE_EXTERNAL_STORAGE section so it looks like this. If platform.xml isn't edited you won't be able to write to the MicroSD card using an app. Then edit vold.fstab to change the mount points so that /mnt/extsd refers to the internal memory and /mnt/sdcard refers to the MicroSD card.

    Reboot the tablet.
    Last edited: Dec 22, 2012
    • Like Like x 2
  7. manekineko
    Offline

    manekineko Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2012
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby MID8042
    thanks for that, traveller!

    i already editted the platform.xml like you showed. but how am i going to change volt.fstab..? i tried to interchange the /mnt/sdcard/ and /mnt/extsd/ but after i reboot, they just went back to the same position. what commands will i input there? :D
  8. Traveller1701
    Offline

    Traveller1701 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    791
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros MID9742, Dell Streak 5
    WARNING: Editing vold.fstab only works on Coby tablets with an Allwinner CPU. Attempting this modification on tablets running a VI Micro or Telechips CPU will brick the tablet!

    It's edited with a text editor on your PC, like notepad++. I believe all you have to do to change the mount points is to change the names; however I'm not 100% sure because changing the mount points is something I have NOT done on my 9742.

    Below is a sample. I believe this is all that needs be done, but as I said, I've not tried it myself so make absolutely sure you have a nandroid backup or system dump before doing this.

    Code:
    # Mounts the first usable partition of the specified device
    #/devices/platform/awsmc.3/mmc_host for sdio
    dev_mount    sdcard    /mnt/sdcard    auto    /devices/platform/sunxi-mmc.1/mmc_host    /devices/platform/sunxi-mmc.0/mmc_host
    dev_mount    extsd    /mnt/extsd    auto    /devices/virtual/block/nandi
    dev_mount    usbhost1    /mnt/usbhost1    auto    /devices/platform/sw-ehci.1    /devices/platform/sw_hcd_host0    /devices/platform/sw-ehci.2
    Last edited: Dec 22, 2012
    • Like Like x 2
  9. manekineko
    Offline

    manekineko Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2012
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby MID8042
    OMG thank you so much for this info, traveller! I ACTUALLY DID IT!!!! :cool:
    $SAM_3011.jpg

    I tried to install a game application, just to make sure that it will save in the MicroSD this time, and it did! I'm so happy about this! :eek:

    WARNING: Editing vold.fstab only works on Coby tablets with an Allwinner CPU. Attempting this modification on tablets running a VI Micro or Telechips CPU will brick the tablet!

    For anyone who wants to have a fully integrated access to MicroSD, here's what I did:

    1. I MADE A NANDROID BACK-UP using ClockworkMod. Seriously, if you don't want to struggle restoring your system after every single failed tweak you do in your device, make a back-up. Also, make sure your device is rooted.

    2.
    To get started, I downloaded Notepad++ on my PC at this link. This will be used to edit the mount points in vold.fstab.

    3. then,
    I edited the platform.xml file in system/etc/permissions like this, (just like Traveller1701 said) then save.

    4. So since I already have the program (Notepad++) on my PC, I copied the vold.fstab in my MicroSD using root explorer but during this step, I needed to physically unmount the MicroSD out of the device and use a card reader instead. Because when I directly plugged the USB (with vold.fstab in MicroSD), my PC did not recognize the device.

    5. I edited vold.fstab (refer to the code above) and saved. I did NOT change the permissions.

    6. Mount the MicroSD back to the device.

    7. I moved the vold.fstab to system/etc. Overwrite and save.

    8. Lastly, I rebooted my device. ;)


    So again, MAKE A BACK-UP of your system before you try to do this!!! This worked in my device and I'm hoping this will work on yours too.
    Thanks to Traveller! :eek:
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 22, 2012
    • Like Like x 4
  10. Traveller1701
    Offline

    Traveller1701 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    791
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros MID9742, Dell Streak 5
    It's all YOUR fault! Because of you I'm actually thinking of changing my mount points. :D

    I'm glad it's working. Just one thing though; you might want to edit your post and mention downloading notepad++ before editing platform.xml, as regular notepad will screw up the formatting of the file. Also, did you change the permissions on vold.fstab after copying? If so, you might want to mention that as well.
    Last edited: Dec 3, 2012
    • Like Like x 4
  11. tpaine
    Offline

    tpaine Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2012
    Messages:
    526
    Likes Received:
    130
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Socal
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby 7042, Coby 8065, Lenovo A2109
    Good job guys. Gotta try this !
    • Like Like x 2
  12. manekineko
    Offline

    manekineko Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2012
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby MID8042
    haha! Go ahead and try it! I'm sure you can do it on your tab. This is a big achievement for me. :eek:

    btw, I already edited my post. I was away so I didn't have the time earlier.
  13. somone
    Offline

    somone Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Northwest
    Tablet / Device:
    coby8048
    Hello and Thank you! I love this forum all the information has helped me make my tablet even betterÂ…
    I used Note++ and Root Explorer to change system>etc>void.fstab


    Factory:
    #External nand storage
    Dev mount sdcard /mnt/sdcard auto/devices/virual/block/ndda
    #External SD Card
    Dev mount sdcard /mnt/sdcard auto/devices/platform/tcc-sdhc


    Edited
    #External nand storage
    Dev mount sdcard /mnt/sdcard auto/devices/platform/tcc-sdhc
    #External SD Card
    Dev mount sdcard /mnt/sdcard auto/devices/virual/block/ndda


    It worked... No lag in apps, all worked, I could move apps to storage card and back to tablet.
    However there are some glitches.
    1. No camera..Says need to insert sd card.
    2. I can install apps from Market but sometimes it gives an out of memory message eventhough I have penty of memory.I reboot and all works again.


    I did not change the platform.xml and this could be the problem...


    <permission name="android permission.WRITE EXTERNAL STORAGE">
    group gid=sdcard rw" />
    <permission name="WRITE MEDIA STORAGE">.
    group gid=media rw" />








    Please let me know if you have any suggestions
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2012
    • Like Like x 2
  14. Traveller1701
    Offline

    Traveller1701 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    791
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros MID9742, Dell Streak 5
    Definitely edit platform.xml. However, be aware that your device uses a Telechips processor while manekineko's device does not. The processor difference may be sufficient to prevent this from working on your device. In that case, revert the edits to restore your tablet's camera.
    • Like Like x 4
  15. somone
    Offline

    somone Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Northwest
    Tablet / Device:
    coby8048
    Traveller, Thanks for your help as you said this might be a processor problem...I edited the platform.xml but ended up with the same glitches...
    I reverted to my backups but feel a little disappointed because the tablet is able to handle most of memory swamp very well!


    This was my edited version
    <permission name="android.permission.WRITE_EXTERNAL_STORAGE" >
    <group gid="sdcard_rw" />
    <group gid="media_rw" />
    </permission>
    <permission name="WRITE MEDIA STORAGE">.
    <group gid=media rw" />
    </permission>


    This is my orginal version
    <permission name="android.permission.WRITE_EXTERNAL_STORAGE">
    <group gid=sdcard rw" />
    </permission>
    <permission name="WRITE MEDIA STORAGE">.
    <group gid=media rw" />
    </permission>
  16. suedemonkey
    Offline

    suedemonkey Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Cebu, Philippines
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros MID7036
    I am trying to do this on my Coby Kyros MID7036 but I am a bit confused with the NANdroid Backup, I have already installed the ROM Manager but when I try to do a Flash ClockworkMod Recovery, it would say that my device is not supported. is there anyway to go around this issue?

    Thanks!
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2012
  17. tpaine
    Offline

    tpaine Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2012
    Messages:
    526
    Likes Received:
    130
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Socal
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby 7042, Coby 8065, Lenovo A2109

    Clockwork recovery is not an app, its a system funtion and must be installed from another computer via ADB (android debugging bridge). so far, there is no clockwork recovery for your tablet (7036). Therefor you have a stock recovery. It is not capable of making a nandroid backup. here's the thread to check the progress:

    Recovery for coby, 7034,7036,7048,8048

    be careful making these changes to your tablet. Do you have adb setup on your non laptop computer?
    • Like Like x 2
  18. suedemonkey
    Offline

    suedemonkey Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Cebu, Philippines
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros MID7036
    Thanks for the link and info man!

    I have no idea what an ADB is but I guess this is the one?

    What Is ADB And How To Install It With Android SDK

    I will download ADB on the link provided on the above site or from this link here:

    Android SDK | Android Developers

    But seeing that there is no clockwork recovery for the MID7036, I guess I will just wait until there is some development on the matter, but I appreciate the help man!
  19. Traveller1701
    Offline

    Traveller1701 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    791
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros MID9742, Dell Streak 5
    Uninstall ROM Manager as it doesn't work on Coby tablets. Also, there are no ClockworkMod recovery images available for your device. At the top of this forum is a sticky thread explaining how to install ADB, in case you're still interested.
    • Like Like x 2
  20. baldadonis2002
    Offline

    baldadonis2002 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    NY
    Tablet / Device:
    Colby Kyros MID7036
    anyone ever try doing this via directory bind or link2sd ?

Share This Page