Screenshots work?

Discussion in 'Android Tablet Usage, Tips & Tricks' started by Natey2, May 28, 2012.

  1. Natey2

    Natey2 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    43
    Trophy Points:
    210
    Location:
    California
    Tablet / Device:
    Nexus 7, iDeaUSA CT702/YG A777
    Android 4.0 introduced the ability to take screenshots via some hardware button combination, usually Power + Volume-down.
    Doesn't work on my iDeaUSA tablet.
    Does it work on yours?
     
  2. jbenham

    jbenham Official ATF App Tester

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011
    Messages:
    2,049
    Likes Received:
    128
    Trophy Points:
    310
    Location:
    Townsend, WI
    Tablet / Device:
    Sony Experia Tablet Z
    It works on my Sony S.
     
  3. jgumphress

    jgumphress Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    Arlington, TX
    Tablet / Device:
    Nexus 7 2nd Gen. and Samsung Galaxy S4
    Works on my Acer A500.
     
  4. Frederuco

    Frederuco Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    1,980
    Likes Received:
    502
    Trophy Points:
    314
    Location:
    /EARTH/USA/NC/
    Tablet / Device:
    ASUS TF101
    Works on my TF101
     
  5. TheSteve

    TheSteve Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Location:
    New York City
    Tablet / Device:
    Kindle
    I wished it worked on my LG Spectrum :( This is a very cool feature. My wifes iPhone does it and I want it too... blah
     
  6. Spider

    Spider Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    15,413
    Likes Received:
    1,784
    Trophy Points:
    1,000
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Tablet / Device:
    NOOK Tablet Stock NOOKcolor Rooted/Flashed Nexus 7 (2013) 32GB Stock
    Works on my Nook Color. Don't know about the Nook Tablet, my wife won't let me touch it.;)
     
    • Like Like x 2
  7. idontknow

    idontknow Alternate ATF App Tester

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Messages:
    2,102
    Likes Received:
    175
    Trophy Points:
    162
    Location:
    miami,fl
    Tablet / Device:
    galaxy note,galaxy 8.9 ,nook color
    That's actually how I used to take screensots on my nook color before rooting it and then I lost that feature and I had to get one of those apps that allows one to take screenshots.
    I believe it doesn't have anything to do with 4.0 though as the guy who opened this thread mention. My note also let me take a screenshot holding home and power button.
    I like the app I have now on my nook, you just have to shake the tablet to get the shot, easier than to press the two buttons.

    Samsung Galaxy Note
     
    Last edited: May 30, 2012
  8. Natey2

    Natey2 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    43
    Trophy Points:
    210
    Location:
    California
    Tablet / Device:
    Nexus 7, iDeaUSA CT702/YG A777
    "You can now share what's on your screens more easily by taking screenshots. Hardware buttons let them snap a screenshot and store it locally."
    - http://www.android.com/about/ice-cream-sandwich/

    The process you used to root must have broken the standard screenshot functionality.

    Sent from my unrooted DroidX using Tapatalk
     
  9. idontknow

    idontknow Alternate ATF App Tester

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Messages:
    2,102
    Likes Received:
    175
    Trophy Points:
    162
    Location:
    miami,fl
    Tablet / Device:
    galaxy note,galaxy 8.9 ,nook color
    Natey,I read the article...the writer is saying that the two button press for taking a screenshot is a prerogative of ICS but we had that on Frojo and I have it on my galaxy note,Gingerbread......we don't really want ICS for that,may be for some other features.

    Samsung Galaxy Note
     
  10. Natey2

    Natey2 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    43
    Trophy Points:
    210
    Location:
    California
    Tablet / Device:
    Nexus 7, iDeaUSA CT702/YG A777
    I've never had screenshot capability: on Eclair, Froyo or Gingerbread on my DroidX.
    Was hoping I would have it on my tablet running ICS 4.0.3, but looks like the tablet manufacturer hosed it somehow.

    Sent from my unrooted DroidX using Tapatalk
     
  11. TheSteve

    TheSteve Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Location:
    New York City
    Tablet / Device:
    Kindle
    Had no idea it worked on the Nook Color! Gonna have to play with it. Anyone know if the new Nook Glowlight has this type of feature? Was thinking of getting one this weekend
     
  12. jbenham

    jbenham Official ATF App Tester

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011
    Messages:
    2,049
    Likes Received:
    128
    Trophy Points:
    310
    Location:
    Townsend, WI
    Tablet / Device:
    Sony Experia Tablet Z
    Probably my favorite feature is to be able to creaste folders simply by pflacing one app over another.

    How many tablets do you have?
     
  13. Natey2

    Natey2 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    43
    Trophy Points:
    210
    Location:
    California
    Tablet / Device:
    Nexus 7, iDeaUSA CT702/YG A777
    I just rooted my tablet, installed the screenshot app from the Market, and it works. Finally!

    Sent from my unrooted DroidX using Tapatalk
     
  14. jbenham

    jbenham Official ATF App Tester

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011
    Messages:
    2,049
    Likes Received:
    128
    Trophy Points:
    310
    Location:
    Townsend, WI
    Tablet / Device:
    Sony Experia Tablet Z
    As Gloria would say, where is it? :)
     
  15. Natey2

    Natey2 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    43
    Trophy Points:
    210
    Location:
    California
    Tablet / Device:
    Nexus 7, iDeaUSA CT702/YG A777
    Attached:
    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page