SD vs SDHC2

Discussion in 'Vizio Tablets' started by Dougahole1, Mar 23, 2013.

  1. Dougahole1

    Dougahole1 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Location:
    Puerto Rico
    Tablet / Device:
    Ainol Hero
    I was going to buy a 32 gig SDHC2 card and then I read a disclaimer that said I should check to make sure that my tablet will take a SDHC2 card. I have the Vizio 8" VTAB1008. Can anyone help
     
  2. Frederuco

    Frederuco Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    1,980
    Likes Received:
    502
    Trophy Points:
    314
    Location:
    /EARTH/USA/NC/
    Tablet / Device:
    ASUS TF101
    Welcome to the forum!

    AFAIK, there are only the following cards:
    SD - Cards up to 3.9 GB in size, formatted for FAT
    SDHC - Cards from 4 GB in size up to 32 GB in size, formatted for FAT32
    SDXC - Cards larger than 32 GB (Typically 64 and 128 GB for now), formatted for exFAT.

    Most Android devices can read FAT32 (I believe it is actually all of them...) The format of the card is more important than the actual size. You can format a SDXC for FAT32 using a 3rd party format tool in windows and it will work just the same as a SDHC, but will not officially comply to the SDXC standard.

    I have never heard of a SDHC2 card, googling for it finds more of 2-in-1 readers so I think it is a typo on the webpage myself.

    I would say it is 99.9% safe to get a 32 GB SDHC card for your tablet.
     
    • Like Like x 4
  3. HilltopStudios

    HilltopStudios Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    NE Ohio
    Tablet / Device:
    Vizio VTAB1008 - Coby Kyros MID 4331 - D2 721
    Nice explanation Frederuco. The only thing I could come up with is the possibility he was seeing a Class 2 SDHC card. The class rating determines the speed of a card with higher numbers supporting faster data transfers.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  4. Frederuco

    Frederuco Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    1,980
    Likes Received:
    502
    Trophy Points:
    314
    Location:
    /EARTH/USA/NC/
    Tablet / Device:
    ASUS TF101
    Aye, that's a good point. I'd do a class 4, 6 or 10 card myself. Class 2 can be a bit slow at times, especially for HD video playback.
     
  5. Dougahole1

    Dougahole1 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Location:
    Puerto Rico
    Tablet / Device:
    Ainol Hero
    OK I got the card. Now, do I have to format it? and do i need special software for that. Thanks, a real newbie for sure. Getting older but trying to keep the brain running smooth
     
  6. Spider

    Spider Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    15,413
    Likes Received:
    1,784
    Trophy Points:
    1,000
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Tablet / Device:
    NOOK Tablet Stock NOOKcolor Rooted/Flashed Nexus 7 (2013) 32GB Stock
    You shouldn't have to format it, every card I've ever bought came pre-formatted. If it's not, the tablet will likely offer to format it for you.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

sdhc2