Searching for a 10 inch tablet

frede.sch

Sep 8, 2011
Hi all,

I'm searching for a 10 inch tablet, my goal is end writing a book, so, how greater the screen better. But I'm a developer and I need a fast tablet (1 GHz or upper CPU) and mainly a capacitive screen. A 7 inch tablet with those specs are easily found, ex: 7" Capacitive Screen Android 2.3 Tablet PC w/ HDMI/TF/OTG/WiFi/3D Acceleration (1.2GHz/DDR3 512MB) - Free Shipping - DealExtreme

Why a 10 inch tablet with those specs (link) are so expensive? I'm searching for a tablet exactly of the link above, but with 10 inch for best typing. Does anyone knows an tablet with 10 inch and those specs (link) (dual core, USB, HDMI, capacitive) and an price like that (link)?

Thanks.

pbrauer

Administrator
Staff member
Sep 24, 2010
In a word, no. If you look carefully you may find a 10" tablet with the rest of your specs in the $250-275 range (think Viewsonic g-Tablet), but I really think that even if you do find a sub-$200 tablet with those specs you will be unhappy in the end.

petedude

Mar 9, 2011
Mod's got a good point. You might try looking for some of the better tablets used on eBay-- that can cut the cost considerably. I've seen Archos 101's going for 150-200 in bidding, for example.

bclinger

Aug 11, 2011
Writing a book on a tablet. OK. No fancy formatting, no fancy pictures and no fancy other things other than just basics. Get a Bluetooth keyboard and mouse. Writing? You are better off on a laptop instead. If you do go the tablet, look at a service similar to Drop Box for a degree of synchronization.

frede.sch

Sep 8, 2011
Writing a book on a tablet. OK. No fancy formatting, no fancy pictures and no fancy other things other than just basics. Get a Bluetooth keyboard and mouse. Writing? You are better off on a laptop instead. If you do go the tablet, look at a service similar to Drop Box for a degree of synchronization.