SetCPU To Overclock Processor

Discussion in 'Coby Tablet Apps and Games' started by BKenney, Jan 18, 2011.

  1. BKenney

    BKenney Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Florida
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros MID7015
    I used setCPU which can be found in the marketplace and on XDA forums, basically it allows you to custom Over-clock any android device processor.

    All attempts to change processor speed or alter it in any way have slowed down the device considerably, easily fixed again by a simple reboot.

    So far all attempts to Overclock have failed, at least with this application:confused:. Anyone else have luck elsewhere?
     
  2. sndplace

    sndplace Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Mt Vernon,NY
    Tablet / Device:
    Epic4g-Coby MID7015
    I've also tried to no avail... I have check a few cpu apps but so far appkiller has help speed things up but can.t go passed 720mhs... I've ran quadrant and was first below the speed of the magic? but with some teaks I scored about it at 283... I think without a custom rom it can't be done.... hopfully we get one.
     
  3. Ish

    Ish Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros
    How were you able to get to 700? I can only get up to 500 with set CPU.
     
  4. Swould333

    Swould333 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    195
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Tablet / Device:
    Archos 101, Viewsonic G-Tablet, Motorola Droid X.... test drove: Augen gentouch 78, Coby Kyros 7015
    You have to have a setCpu text file on your sd card that gives the frequency range..I copied the one from the Augen wiki site and edited the values.. I don't have my tablet or i'd pull the numbers... it's just a plain text file... but it'll allow setCPU clock to 660mhz and then you can at least scale the processor to use the profiles settings in setCPU.... I'll post them later...

    Here's the text from the augen wiki... it's just a plain text file.. you can make one with notepad in windows and copy it to the sd card has to be called "setcpu.txt" and needs nothing but the number strings and comas....

    36000,126000,144000,294000,364000,500000,600000


    I think i changed the values to this.....

    36000,126000,250000,394000,500000,660000,720000

    even though i gave the value to 720mhz the processor wouldn't go past 660mhz... :( YOU HAVE TO HAVE A TEXT FILE WITH THIS IFO OR A SCALED RANGE SIMILAR TO IT ON THE SDCARD no directory just on the card's main directorythen in setcpu app hit the menu button then "select device" and scroll to the bottom of the list and select "custom...."after this the app will function and no tkeep the device throttled down to 500mhz plus you can utilize the profiles utility to curb the cpu ussage in situation sliek where your battery is going dead and it'll slow down the cpu clocking to extend battery life or scale back the processor when the screeen is off.. helps extend the batt life also... play with it you'll fuigure it out

    can anyone confirm that this thing is actually running at 800mhz like the box said on the stock rom?
     
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2011
  5. l_n

    l_n Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    99
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    TN, USA
    Tablet / Device:
    Mid7015
    It's not. It runs at 720 out of the box..
     
  6. sndplace

    sndplace Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Mt Vernon,NY
    Tablet / Device:
    Epic4g-Coby MID7015
    /\ What l_n said /\ .... When I tried cpu tuner, it first clocked in at 720 but then when I touched the bar it changes to 660...
     
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2011
  7. l_n

    l_n Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    99
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    TN, USA
    Tablet / Device:
    Mid7015
    just gotta love factory set throttling..
     
  8. Ish

    Ish Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros
    Couldn't you get it to run closer to 800 with SetCPU?
     
  9. sndplace

    sndplace Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Mt Vernon,NY
    Tablet / Device:
    Epic4g-Coby MID7015
    You can't as far as I can tell. It's clocked at 720 and from what I looked up, you need a hernel to do this... What is sad is the Nook is pushing over 1ghz and its a 800mhz chip lol... I know its not the same chip but still...
     
  10. Marbieskarb

    Marbieskarb Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    Michigan
    Tablet / Device:
    Colby 7015
    Using setcpu the fastest the processor will go is 660mhz. So, I don't think Its even pushing 720mhz.

    I hope this gets unlocked so we can at least get it up to 720mhz.
     
  11. bullitt6996

    bullitt6996 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros MID7015
    As with the Android Phones, it's really going to boil down to some droid ninjas figuring out the problem and developing an app or hack for it, all we can do is wait. SetCPU was designed with the phones in mind, so down the road we should see something better in the shape of an App or ROM with a decent overclock built in.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
set cpu txt
,

setcpu txt