Setting up Static IP (fixed IP address setting, no DHCP) in the Le Pans

Discussion in 'Le Pan Development' started by yann2, Feb 10, 2012.

  1. yann2

    yann2 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    414
    Likes Received:
    48
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Tablet / Device:
    Le Pan TC970, Archos 101, Palm Pre2 webOS, HP Touchpad
    I haven't seen a thread here yet about setting up or using Static IP address on the Le Pan tablets.

    But I think it's a good idea, it speeds up the tabs connecting to the 'net when they are powered on or returning from being in sleep mode, etc.

    This thread has the sequence of operations you need to enable and configure Static IPs. Read on.

    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    From Kleine89's original post at XDA Devs social group :

    And that helped me out. After updating the firmware, I managed to get Fixed IP working.

    On 21st January 2012, I replied to him:

    Kleine, thanks for the nice post. These controls are in a less-than-obvious location, so your guide is very useful.

    I had tried a few times, using all the correct information, etc and no luck. My router could see the Le Pan under the Devices list, it showed it├Ęs MAC address corrctly but it did not show any IP assigned to it. Needless to say, it did not route any of its traffic, so nothing worked with the Fixed IP config. :(

    This morning, applied the newest version of firmware, which dbaybay hosted, and it now works as expected. Yey! :)

    My Reasons for using Static IP:

    - faster on and off networking, no need to create traffic for dhcp requests, acks, renewals. I got annoyed on seeing my router logs and how many times my wifes tablet (Archos 101) was re-sending requests, etc.Like, every two minutes, woot....

    - easier to reach the device with Static IP, I like AirDroid and can now bookmark the LePan easily.

    - routing, I have two routes in my house. We use DSL, and I have a couple of different logins. One for me, other used by everyone else. The router is on the family IP route, with the Static I am able to point the tablet to my own (DSL modem IP) Gateway; bypassing the router and the QOS I have in place on it to control the kids voracity. :p

    Happy now, thanks. :)


    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


    Any questions or comments, just post below, I will do my best to help.
     
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2012
    • Like Like x 2
  2. papoarvelo

    papoarvelo Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Dominican Republic
    Tablet / Device:
    Le Pan TC 970 Tablet
    Hi
    I have a Lepan TC-970, and have been unable to use the static Ip connection after trying several times and confirm all information entered was right.

    Which firmware version is needed to get the wifi static ip connection working?
    Thank in advance.

    Sent from my GT-S5830L using Android Tablet Forum
     
  3. yann2

    yann2 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    414
    Likes Received:
    48
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Tablet / Device:
    Le Pan TC970, Archos 101, Palm Pre2 webOS, HP Touchpad
    Hi, I found that the latest firmware (the un-official, leaked version 4749) is the best for wifi in general. I couldn't get Static IP working well with the previous versions.

    With 4749, success. :)

    I can provide you with a link if you like, but remember, use at your own risk. The file came from Le Pan, leaked from one of their FTP servers.
     
  4. Johna2u

    Johna2u Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2011
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    52
    Trophy Points:
    210
    Location:
    orangevale ca
    Tablet / Device:
    Le Pan II
    yann setting up static ip is a little different on the LP2. To get to static ip you have to forget your current wifi setting. then select it again. the option to enter static ip will be there.
     
  5. yann2

    yann2 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    414
    Likes Received:
    48
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Tablet / Device:
    Le Pan TC970, Archos 101, Palm Pre2 webOS, HP Touchpad
    Thanks, John - I should do an Edit in the original post and include that. TY. :)
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

android change subnet mask

,
android set subnet mask
,

android tablet wifi static ip

,

change android subnet mask

,
dhcp on android tablet
,
fast ip for android
,
fast obtain ip xda
,
how to change ip address on a tablet
,

how to change ip address on android tablet

,

how to change submask android

,

how to change subnet mask in android

,
how to enable DHCP in Android
,
how to enable dhcp on android
,
how to set ip address on tablet
,

how to set subnet mask in android

,
howto set ip addressto prestigio tablet
,
le pan II need dns
,
set static ip in tablet
,
static ip android tablet
,

where to change subnet mask in android