So far I have SuperUser and RootUninstaller working on my Vizio.

Discussion in 'Vizio Tablets' started by imhumanoid, Nov 9, 2011.

  1. imhumanoid

    imhumanoid Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Location:
    Central Texas
    Tablet / Device:
    Vizio Vtab!
    Wish me luck. If it keeps going smoothly like this I may have my Vizio rooted.

    Ill update in a bit on what I did.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  2. rprr

    rprr Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    46
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Tablet / Device:
    Vizio Tablet VTAB1008
    Fingers Crossed and Sending Root thoughts :))))
     
  3. imhumanoid

    imhumanoid Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Location:
    Central Texas
    Tablet / Device:
    Vizio Vtab!
    It is a program that requires a device to be rooted for you to use it. It can and will delete the bloatware vizio put on the tablet we all hate. lol

    This is RootUninstaller
    https://market.android.com/details?id=com.rootuninstaller.free

    I
    am fixing to completly uninstall market and reinstall it. That will def tell me if I have rooted it.
    If it works, its rooted and if not..... its not.
     
  4. imhumanoid

    imhumanoid Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Location:
    Central Texas
    Tablet / Device:
    Vizio Vtab!
    Tweaked around with Z4ROOT. :]
     
  5. imhumanoid

    imhumanoid Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Location:
    Central Texas
    Tablet / Device:
    Vizio Vtab!
    Bloody fail. Trying something else.

    Which is strange, I hit temp root and it ran the exploits blah blah blah..... and then it did give me a confirmation.
    It also automatically put my SuperUser on my Tablet. Like its supposed too, like it did my phone. :/
     
    Last edited: Nov 9, 2011
  6. rprr

    rprr Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    46
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Tablet / Device:
    Vizio Tablet VTAB1008
    Suspense is killing me ......

    edit: Sorry it didn't work. Can you tell us what you tried? AFAIK, z4root uses rageagainstthecage exploit.
     
  7. imhumanoid

    imhumanoid Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Location:
    Central Texas
    Tablet / Device:
    Vizio Vtab!
    And SuperOneClick F'ed up my computer a good amount. Not even retrying THAT.

    Iv had trouble with ADB related software in the past, that could have been the reason.... :/
     
    Last edited: Nov 9, 2011
  8. droid_dude

    droid_dude Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    72
    imhumanoid: Would you mind sharing how you achieved superuser access on the VTAB?

    This is all that is needed to fix the ad-hoc hotspot issue. Thanks!
     
  9. imhumanoid

    imhumanoid Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Location:
    Central Texas
    Tablet / Device:
    Vizio Vtab!
    I installed Z4root on my Vtab and ran the Temp Root, and it installed it.
     
  10. rprr

    rprr Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    46
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Tablet / Device:
    Vizio Tablet VTAB1008
    You may have it installed but do you have root access?
     
  11. imhumanoid

    imhumanoid Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Location:
    Central Texas
    Tablet / Device:
    Vizio Vtab!
    No. I said in an earlier post it did fail to work.
     
  12. rprr

    rprr Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    46
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Tablet / Device:
    Vizio Tablet VTAB1008
    At this point I am beginning to doubt if we will ever get this device rooted :(
     
  13. JimO

    JimO Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Location:
    Michigan
    Tablet / Device:
    Vizio Tab
    I ran Z4 Root. Temp Root. SU - Permission denied.
     
  14. marvin02

    marvin02 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    NW Indiana
    Tablet / Device:
    Visio VTAB1008
    Matbe the opening poster can change the thread title, since it is misleading?
     

Share This Page