[Solved] Desktop view default

Discussion in 'Acer Iconia Tab A500 Forum' started by wilsr, Jul 13, 2013.

  1. wilsr

    wilsr Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Location:
    Australia
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer AIconia A500
    I know that you can select the desktop view on Firefox from the top RH menu, but it's annoying to do this time and time again: is there any way of making desktop view the default for all apps?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 18, 2013
  2. wilsr

    wilsr Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Location:
    Australia
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer AIconia A500
    Anyone? .........................
     
  3. Mrhelper

    Mrhelper Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    57
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    Ohio
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer A500
    enter URL: about:config

    enter this in search: agent

    toggle this to false: general.useragent.site_specific_overrides

    toggle this to true: general.useragent.enable_overrides

    add a new string: general.agent.override
    select "string"
    enter: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; rv:21.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/21.0

    go to: Settings > Apps > Firefox and push "Force stop"

    The browser will now identify as the desktop version of Firefox.

    URL auto complete/search may still swap in mobile URLs though that you can eliminate by clearing personal data and history items, etc.

    You can alternately try the Phony addon ...remember to "Force stop" the browser after each UA change. I don't know whether or not Phony works though with the current version of Firefox.
     
  4. wilsr

    wilsr Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Location:
    Australia
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer AIconia A500
    Many thanks for the coding: I will try it later today.
     
  5. leeshor

    leeshor Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Messages:
    6,331
    Likes Received:
    1,037
    Trophy Points:
    700
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    Tablet / Device:
    Samsung Galaxy Tab S 10.5
    There is another way that ultimately may be easier. An Add-on called Phony that will let you request desktop mode permanently, but you can change it.
     
  6. wilsr

    wilsr Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Location:
    Australia
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer AIconia A500
    Mr Helper: Tried your coding - checking all the text was good - but no change in Firefox - it doesn't automatically give me the desktop view unless I select it from the upper RH menu.
     
  7. leeshor

    leeshor Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Messages:
    6,331
    Likes Received:
    1,037
    Trophy Points:
    700
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    Tablet / Device:
    Samsung Galaxy Tab S 10.5
    Use the Phony add-on.
     
  8. wilsr

    wilsr Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Location:
    Australia
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer AIconia A500
    Thanks: I went online to get that but saw "desktopbydefault" and that seems to work ok.

    Thanks all.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  9. Mrhelper

    Mrhelper Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    57
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    Ohio
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer A500
    The "Desktop by Default" Firefox add-on is a great solution! That seems to be exactly what you asked for. Phony and the manual config change that I provided merely change the User Agent, but I noticed with those solutions that Firefox would continue to use mobile pages unless I cleared all app data first. This solution appears to eliminate that need to work around the quirky desktop check box option, and with the apparent benefit of allowing you to switch back and forth without killing the browser in between. Thanks for sharing that!
     
    Last edited: Jul 19, 2013
    • Like Like x 2
  10. wilsr

    wilsr Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Location:
    Australia
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer AIconia A500
    All, as they say, sorted!
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

force firefox android to desktop