Sony Tablet S Price Drop means...

G37

Jan 3, 2012
I've been pouring over these forums for about two months now getting my fill on the most recent tablet gossip plus current tablet issues for the top consumer android tablets and I wanted to speculate about Sony Tablet S' $100 price drop.If you've been staying on top of the news (and I don't think it is by anyone's surprise) the Sony Tablet S price dropped by $100 for both sizes of the tablet to which I still don't think it is appropriately priced.

None the less, the Sony Tablet S is an amazing product despite the lack of features it possesses with regards to its competition (HDMI out, USB 2.0, Gorilla Glass, etc...). I like the Sony Tablet S mostly because of it's size. 10.1" is too much and way to column like (doesn't feel natural in portrait, and landscape is tough to hold), 7" and 8.9" is too small and even more column like, and it seems like that 9.5" size is perfect especially with its magazine like/off-center design and I believe those attributes make it a prime competitor.

Not that any of the above stuff interests you, lets get to meat of my post. I see the $100 price drop means one of two things (perhaps both):

(1) Sony was behind the game when it released the Tablet S from the get go. With tegra 3 being introduced and many other tablet vendors devoting resources to ushering in their own Tegra 3 product, I'm hoping that Sony will introduce a Tegra 3 tablet soon after this price drop. (2) Usually the price drop is AFTER the press release of a new tablet, however, it could also mean Sony had to make an aggressive move as its competition is already putting these tegra 3 tabs out there as well as relying on the less-informed consumer to not really know the difference between tegra 2 and tegra 3. After all, if you're not tech savvy and you like android, you most likely won't know what Tegra 3 means.