Spell Check

Discussion in 'Android Tablet Discussions' started by britinva, Dec 5, 2012.

  1. britinva
    Offline

    britinva Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NoVA
    First sorry if wrong forum.

    So 4.0 introduced spell check. I see that words get underlined (both correct & incorrect) but when I click on it I get no suggestion just ability to add to a custom dictionary.

    Im I missing some thing? Do I need to load a dictionary for spell check to use or do I really have to manually create a dictionary?

    Samsung 10.1 tablet runing ver 4.04

    Thanks,
    Mark
  2. vampirefo.
    Offline

    vampirefo. Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    3,710
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Huntington WV
  3. britinva
    Offline

    britinva Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NoVA
    Thanks for this but I don't have a system/app folder - I tried both My Files and ES File Exporer - is it a hidden folder? Don't see a way to unhide - I checked show hidden files.
  4. britinva
    Offline

    britinva Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NoVA
    Ok, found how to get to root and now see system/app folder but cannot paste the files
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2012
  5. britinva
    Offline

    britinva Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NoVA
    In ES File Manager --> Root Settings I have enabled "Up to Root" but the "Mount File System" option is not selectable :confused:

    Do I need to root my tablet? If there any other way to get the dictionarys load - seems bizarre that its not easier.
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2012
  6. vampirefo.
    Offline

    vampirefo. Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    3,710
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Huntington WV
    Yes you need to be rooted, to add or remove files.
  7. leeshor
    Offline

    leeshor Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,757
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    You could use an alternate keyboard that does spellcheck and doesn't need root access. Check out hackers keyboard.
    britinva likes this.
  8. britinva
    Offline

    britinva Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NoVA
    Is it just me or is it odd that Google create a capability and a) make it so hard for "Joe Public" to use amd b) you have to hack the OS to do it. Shocking!
  9. vampirefo.
    Offline

    vampirefo. Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    3,710
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Huntington WV
    I agree, but what can we do?
  10. britinva
    Offline

    britinva Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NoVA
    So I installed 'Hackers Keyboard' and the 'English Completion Language' but when I type an email with miss-spelt words I don't get an underline and don't see option to check spelling. Am I missing something?
  11. leeshor
    Offline

    leeshor Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,757
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    That may have more to do with the mail client. Try Kaiten mail. $5 US but designed for tablets and more feature rich than the default mail client - which I have used in so long I forgot what it looks like.

Share This Page