SSD degredation... trim command. What am I missing?

s_mack

Nov 23, 2011
Hi. First timer here.

First off, I didn't know what section was appropriate so I'm sorry if I chose the wrong one.

Second, I have ZERO experience with Android, so this question may fall into the "what a noob" category, so bear with me...

I'm considering getting the Asus Transformer Prime when it comes out in a couple of weeks. A friend and I were discussing if we need the 32 or the 64gb version, blah blah... that got me to thinking. In a PC, when SSD started to become trendy a few years ago as a primary OS drive, people were awakened with a hammer when they ran into serious performance degradation once the drive filled up. For those not familiar, SSD works differently than an HDD and (to put it over-simply) data isn't ever really "deleted", only over-written. So when a fresh drive gets used it gets "filled up", even though it may appear neat and tidy, and you hit a wall and suddenly your performance is greatly affected since every operation now requires an over-write of existing data rather than filling in empty space. This is where the TRIM command came in to save the day. TRIM needs to be supported on the drive AND the OS to work. Windows 7 supports it, along with the latest MAC OS and a handful of Linux distros... but according to wikipedia, there's no mention of Android at all.

(see this link)

I spent a few minutes on Google and not only could I not find an answer, I really didn't even see anyone asking the question! So I figure either:

a) Android is just special and natively somehow avoids the SSD degradation altogether
b) Devices that run Android are just so slow that the SSD is nowhere near the bottleneck so even full its still not a problem
c) Android is so lean that nobody anywhere has ever filled one up (doubtful)
d) Androids in Black are doing their best to keep dissenters at bay and wipe any post referring to SSD degradation before anyone can read it.

- Steven

J515OP