Successful Overclock

FoFoJoe

Jun 8, 2011
I used this kernel-
Kernel 2.6.36.4-thor-V1.15

And am running 1.6GHz, which is quite the noticeable improvement over the standard 1 GHz. Anyone else been successful at this, or gone higher?

Sent from my A500 using Android Tablet Forum

bigdaddy_mike

Aug 19, 2011
I used this kernel-
Kernel 2.6.36.4-thor-V1.15

And am running 1.6GHz, which is quite the noticeable improvement over the standard 1 GHz. Anyone else been successful at this, or gone higher?

didw you do it with stock or custom rom?

HD87

May 14, 2011
Im on richardtrips 3.4 kernel, OC at 1.6 Mhz, set with setCPU.

Last edited:

FoFoJoe

Jun 8, 2011
Umm I believe im on clockwork mod.. not sure exactly this was done at like 3am.. I don't think its stock though.

SSTGohanX

Sep 14, 2011
Now I have been using Linux for years, and this is going to sound like a noob question; but how exactly do you modify the kernel to overclock this? I am new to this tablet- I'm actually waiting for it to arrive in the mail [Friday ETA]. So, might I ask; how do you go about doing this? I'm assuming it's just not an "app" as what you could assume would be on an android phone? Or is it?

Also 1.6ghz dual core eh? This has got to be a fun tablet, especially for dual boot :D lol.

MrBlazito

May 8, 2011
is there some kind of stress testing software for android to test the stability of overclocked cpu?

FoFoJoe

Jun 8, 2011
Stress testing, well I just use it :p but what I've been told, and what I've figured out, 1.6GHz is kinda unstable, but back at 1.504GHz, she runs like a charm ;) and 1.6GHz can just be used for stressful situations, but I keep it set at .604GHz to 1.504GHz, and love it