Successfully using my Droid X as a hot spot for my SuperPad!

Discussion in 'Gome Flytouch II' started by don.fief, Jan 25, 2011.

  1. don.fief

    don.fief Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Location:
    Albany, Oregon
    Tablet / Device:
    WOWPAD
    Last night I was successful with using my Verizon Droid X as a hot spot for my tablet. Now I can surf anywhere I have a cell signal! :cool:

    Don
     
  2. pbrauer

    pbrauer Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,649
    Likes Received:
    561
    Trophy Points:
    312
    Location:
    Edina, MN USA
    Tablet / Device:
    HTC Thunderbolt, ViewSonic GTab, Huawei S7, Gentouch 78
    Congrats! How about writing up or referring to where you found out how to do it and sharing it with the rest of your forum?
     
  3. don.fief

    don.fief Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Location:
    Albany, Oregon
    Tablet / Device:
    WOWPAD
    Steps I took to accomplish this...

    On my Droid X:
    1 ) I set up the 3G hotspot app with security as recommended.
    2) Installed and configured "Dazzle Configurable" from the Market. Configured it with the toggle for "Cellular Radio".

    On my Tablet:
    I configured the WIFI to see the Droid X network.
    Open a browser and browse to any web page. I am re-directed to the Verizon sales page where it asks me to purchase the hot spot data package for my plan. (do not purchase)

    On the Droid X:
    I toggle off and then back on the cell radio using the Dazzle app.

    On the Tablet:
    Tray again to browse the web, and it now works, even though I did not purchase the plan, and did not accept any terms, etc.

    These steps are not mine. I got them from the Droid X forums at Droid X Hacks - Droid Forum - Verizon Droid & the Motorola Droid Forum

    Don
     
    • Like Like x 4
  4. Richardo Crispus

    Richardo Crispus Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Tablet / Device:
    Gome Flytouch II Aka Wowpad
    How did you configure the wifi on your tablet to see it? I'm guessing you did an ad-hoc fix? I'd really like to know how to do that

    Thanks,
    Richardo
     
  5. don.fief

    don.fief Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Location:
    Albany, Oregon
    Tablet / Device:
    WOWPAD
    Nope. Nothing special on my tablet. Just selected the Droid X from the available networks and entered the WEP key.

    Don
     
  6. probbiethe1

    probbiethe1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,838
    Likes Received:
    139
    Trophy Points:
    310
    Location:
    Gilbert, Arizona
    so your using the verizon 3g hotspot app that you pay for each month?
     
  7. Danish

    Danish Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Denmark
    Tablet / Device:
    Fly Touch II
    Im using my HTC Legend as a hotspot works fine :)
     
  8. probbiethe1

    probbiethe1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,838
    Likes Received:
    139
    Trophy Points:
    310
    Location:
    Gilbert, Arizona
    Are you guys paying the hot spot fee through your carries?

    Sent from my incredible using Android Tablet Forum
     
  9. don.fief

    don.fief Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Location:
    Albany, Oregon
    Tablet / Device:
    WOWPAD
    Yes... Not had to pay, though... Never been prompted to accept anything, nor have I called anyone to add it to the account...

    Don
     
  10. Danish

    Danish Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Denmark
    Tablet / Device:
    Fly Touch II
    I have flatrate data on my cellphone and the program was a part of Android 2.2 upgrade..
     
  11. black_valkyrie

    black_valkyrie Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Confused by this as android can't see ad hoc
     
  12. don.fief

    don.fief Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Location:
    Albany, Oregon
    Tablet / Device:
    WOWPAD
    Well, then maybe the hot spot is not acting like an ad hoc, because it sure does see it. When you go to the network setup screen on the tablet, it shows the droid x right there. Tap it, and it gives the option to forget, or connect. Tap connect, and in about 10 seconds, it is up and says connected. Can go to the market, browse pages with a browser, etc...

    Don
     
  13. black_valkyrie

    black_valkyrie Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    right... so is the droid x creating an infrastucture network instead?
     
  14. don.fief

    don.fief Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Location:
    Albany, Oregon
    Tablet / Device:
    WOWPAD
    Not sure what it is called, but it works.

    Don
     
  15. kmitch80

    kmitch80 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Tablet / Device:
    WowPad aka SuperPad
    where did you find this in the droid forums?
     

Share This Page