suggest long-living 10" 3G tablet for education/travel

edkorg

Sep 19, 2012
Hello! I need a recommendations on tablet to buy. Since I'm absolute newbie on this field, I'll describe my requirements as full as possible. The other day I've been on a trip with my friend and since I didn't have any navigator/netbook/tablet we were sharing his devices, some old HTC smartphone with android 2.x and ipad. So, I had a "luck" to try these in production, if you can say so. Speaking about "luck", I found this ipad is very inconfigurable and useless one for any of simpliest tasks I needed to do. Basically, since I'm looking for a device for education and travelling, I need these simpliest things: 1. first of all, it has to live long on battery. it doesn't have to have a lots of flash space or nice gpu or cpu, i don't need all that, i'd like to have device that is able to live like up to at least 10 hours while used mostly in text mode, browsing non-bloated websites. By saying 10 hours I mean 10 hours of real work. Would be way nice if there's even more long-living devices out there. 2. (software)ability to use offline maps (of course with online + GPS modes), I would like to save specific locations in closest possible zooming and ability to disable/enable english titles of local objects name. For instance, google maps full browser version for usual, desktop computers, has so-called "English" option in maps menu, which you can toggle. It was not possible on any apps for ipad I had installed that time. 3. (software) web browser, which is capable of using offline storage(don't lose open tabs contents when I close application/disable tablet screen/reboot, and also support loading html files from local filesystem). I've already heard that most popular browsers for android may not be able to load html files directly from my friend who spent few minutes trying to check that for me, I'm not sure if there is any workaround like running local http server on directory with saved stuff and