System update

Discussion in 'Acer Iconia Tab A500 Forum' started by mullsy, May 18, 2011.

  1. mullsy

    mullsy Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Perth, West Australia
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer A500
    So I just installed a system update for my A500 (rooted and renamed Phone.apk and TelephoneProvider.apk) and all went fine.

    Anyone know what the update did?


    Sent from my A500 using Android Tablet Forum
     
  2. Therev1969

    Therev1969 Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Canada
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500 Tablet
    I just downloaded the update as well. No notes that I can find... and no obvious change in performance. Maybe some under the hood bug fixes?
     
  3. lord_voldemort

    lord_voldemort Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    70
    Location:
    Oregon, US
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500
    Theres a system update? When I check on mine, it says my tab device is up to date...
     
  4. AQ_OC

    AQ_OC Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Greenville, SC
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer A500
    Yeah, where did you guys get this update?
     
  5. Therev1969

    Therev1969 Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Canada
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500 Tablet
    Go to Settings->About Tablet->System Update. Touch System Update and follow the on screen instructions.
     
  6. lord_voldemort

    lord_voldemort Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    70
    Location:
    Oregon, US
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500
    Yeah I did that and it says there is no update available.
     
  7. Garemlin

    Garemlin Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Not seeing an update availabe for mine.
     
  8. Therev1969

    Therev1969 Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Canada
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500 Tablet
    I don't know then. Hmmmm.....
     
  9. AQ_OC

    AQ_OC Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Greenville, SC
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer A500
    I should have said that I did this before posting! :)
     
  10. robdroid

    robdroid Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    USA
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color
    Some here have A500's and some have A501's sold as A500's.
    Can those who got the update check their hardware model number and report back?
     
  11. lord_voldemort

    lord_voldemort Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    70
    Location:
    Oregon, US
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500
    Well mine says its an a501 in the device information section, but it was sold as an a500 and it is recognized as an a500 everywhere else, and my device doesn't see an update.
     
  12. Therev1969

    Therev1969 Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Canada
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500 Tablet
    My tablet says its an A500, and I installed the system update today. Sounds like that A500/ A501 theory may be the answer.
     
  13. Garemlin

    Garemlin Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    72

    Not only that but there seems to be different build numbers installed out of the box. Mine is 1.104.02. I have also seen on XDA people having 1.126.03, and 1.016.04 and 1.105.01. Some versions end in GEN1 and others in GEN3.
     
  14. Samoa Joe

    Samoa Joe Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    70
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    Tablet / Device:
    ROOTED Acer Iconia A500
    No update here either.

    -Joe.
     
  15. dhornick

    dhornick Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    70
    Location:
    Florida
    Tablet / Device:
    acer iconia tab / moto droid x
    Mines a model a500 with no update either
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

acer iconia tab a501 software update

,
acer system update model number a501 apk
,
systemupdate apk a501