Tablet suggestions for college student

toopsie

Oct 9, 2011
Hi all, I'm a college student and I have found that carrying my laptop around all day just isn't working for me.
What I'm looking for-
1. USB port for a keyboard or the flash drive I carry
2. 8-16GB I don't need too much memory on it
3. Full size ports would be a plus because I can't go out and spend 35+ on adapters for each thing I need
4. 3.0 or 3.1 is a must
5. Needs to be able to view power point
6. between 350-500

Any help is much appreciated!

toopsie

Oct 9, 2011
I need a USB port, I can't go without having one. Ill just make it easy, I'm down to two- Toshiba Thrive, and the Acer Transformer.

Tom T

Feb 18, 2011
The Thrive has full size USB I believe, with the Transformer you will need the Keyboard dock, which has two. Problem is it's about the size and weight of a netbook when docked. The Thrive isn't the smallest or lightest tablet but quite capable.

Sent from my Transformer TF101 using Android Tablet Forum

toopsie

Oct 9, 2011
Yeah thats the problem I was running into. I think the Thrive will be my choice but I figured I would see opinions from people who have experience in this field, I have never used a tablet before.

BamaPanda

Oct 6, 2011
I need a USB port, I can't go without having one. Ill just make it easy, I'm down to two- Toshiba Thrive, and the Acer Transformer.

You mentioned full size ports. Not sure what that is. Also did you mean Asus Transformer here? I have not seen an Acer with that designation.

I was under the impression that a USB port was a USB port ..which is included on the Haipad I mentioned.

If the USB on the Haipad is somehow not the right size, I would like to know ..as I have it ordered. I too need a USB to read flash drives and such.

Thanks.

Last edited:

toopsie

Oct 9, 2011