Task Manager

Discussion in 'Acer Iconia Tab A500 Forum' started by 2wheelsagain, Jun 2, 2011.

  1. 2wheelsagain
    Offline

    2wheelsagain Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Victoria, Australia
    I got my 32gb A500 yesterday and it’s a love affair so far.

    There appears to be quite a few Task Manages in the market but none as slick as the manager on my Samsung Galaxy phone. Any suggestions on what to download as a task manager or don’t these tabs need one?

    I’m sure these questions have been asked before but I can’t seem to find them so I apologise if it’s being repeated.

    Thanks in advance ;)
  2. spexwood
    Offline

    spexwood Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You dont need a task manager. Android automatically closes apps if they have been running long with no activity.
  3. CenturionFive
    Offline

    CenturionFive Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NULL
    I cannot get used to the fact that the OS "handles" it for you. If I want to close an app by gum I want to close it. Even programs that have QUIT or EXIT options really do not close, they pretend too.

    Cen5
  4. pbrauer
    Offline

    pbrauer Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,651
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Edina, MN USA
    this is one of those topics that ebb and flow. YES the new versions of the Android are much better at memory management and do a ton of work automatically. NO that does not mean you can also install a memory/task manager to use when and if you need it. I still put one on each of my devices, and while i may go weeks without using it, I do find that at least once or twice a month I fire it off, especially if you are using custom ROMs, and i believe it is mandatory if you run Betas or Alphas of ROMs.

    that all being said, I personally tend to keep going back to Advanced Task Killer from rechild, available from the market.

    cheers,
    p
  5. PeteDee
    Offline

    PeteDee Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2011
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Australia
    I use advanced Task Killer, seems to work fine.

    Pete
  6. spexwood
    Offline

    spexwood Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    For the record, I said you dont NEED a task manager. Yeah you can install one if you want, but it really isnt necessary unless you want to manually force close things. One of the things the OP asked is if one was NEEDED on these tablets. I was only answering the question.
  7. 2wheelsagain
    Offline

    2wheelsagain Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Victoria, Australia
    Thanks all for the noob advice :) I had downloaded advanced task killer earlier and have since discovered nothing out of the ordinary running at a fresh boot so Honeycomb seems to handle apps pretty well. I'll keep ATK just in case though ;)

Share This Page