Terminal Emulator

Discussion in 'Huawei Ideos S7 Apps and Games' started by 50cals, Jan 30, 2011.

  1. 50cals

    50cals Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Tablet / Device:
    Ideos s7
    Installed terminal emulator and everything just says permission denied. I do have the android sdk installed on my PC , device manager shows my ADB device correctly. I can bring up cmd and cd/ to my sdk/tools folder and run the android.bat.

    but im not getting any luck with even doing su on the terminal emulator or do we do that from the pc?

    i have root explorer and its got the permissions and can mount R/W

    so i guess im just not sure what i need running and where to type these diff commands in.

    do i go through command prompt to open a adb shell with my s7 from my pc ? or is it something in the sdk i type this stuff in? or is it on the terminal emulator on my s7?

    thx in advance
     
  2. Celtus

    Celtus Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Location:
    Midwest, US
    Tablet / Device:
    Cruz Reader R103
    If root explorer is OK with setting r/w, then you should be able to do what you need to do in the terminal app.

    If you have the sdk installed, it is probably easier to use adb. The adb program runs from the command-line on *nix boxes, so I'm guessing that you'll need to run it from cmd.exe. If the directory layout is the same, it should be in the sdk folder, inside of a folder called platform-tools. I haven't used the sdk on Windows, so I could be wrong. You could do a search for adb.exe, and see if that finds it for you (again, no Windows here, so I'm guessing). Once you find it, run it with 'shell' as the command argument (like c:\whatever\directory\its\in\adb.exe shell). If all goes well, it will open a connection to the S7. You will need to Settings > Applications > Development on the S7, and turn on USB debugging before you do this for it to work.

    My S7 opens the adb shell session as a non-root user, so I run su as my first command, then it's off to the races.

    Good Luck!
    -Celtus
     
  3. 50cals

    50cals Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Tablet / Device:
    Ideos s7
    cool thx for the reply. not sure if i saw adb.exe in that tools folder, will chk around again
     
  4. 50cals

    50cals Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Tablet / Device:
    Ideos s7
    sweet got it working, thx again. there is a tools folder and a platform-tools which it was in.

    soon as i typed su and hit enter my S7 asked for perms. and the $ has changed to a #. looks like im setup now thx !

    $adb.JPG
     
  5. 50cals

    50cals Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Tablet / Device:
    Ideos s7
    k getting error on pc with first mknod entry : busybox not found

    so i know titanium backup shows busybox installed....... do i need it on pc also?

    thx
     
  6. Celtus

    Celtus Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Location:
    Midwest, US
    Tablet / Device:
    Cruz Reader R103
    No, just on the tablet. It's possible that your busybox is not in the path in your environment. I don't have Titanium backup loaded, but perhaps someone who has it can tell you where it puts busybox. Once you know that, just add it to the beginning of the command (like /path/to/busybox mknod......)
     
  7. 50cals

    50cals Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Tablet / Device:
    Ideos s7
    thx for your help ! got it all worked out now
     
  8. ivyvisors

    ivyvisors Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    52
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    melbourne
    Tablet / Device:
    huawai s7
    Titanium backup normally places busybox in /system/bin, so when using adb shell it should be in your path.

    ~Ivy
     
  9. pvella

    pvella Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    392
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Tablet / Device:
    Huawei S7
    Welcome to the wonderful world of S7 hacking. :)
     
  10. pedro_

    pedro_ Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    St Albans, UK
    Tablet / Device:
    HTC Hero
    I had the same problem installing busybox
    You need to remount the /system rw before running the busybox install otherwise the titanium installer exits silently without actually doing the install

    Pete, on the move...
     
  11. mecha2012

    mecha2012 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    Lowell, ma
    Tablet / Device:
    Huawei Ideos s7
    Hey guys sorry to high Jack this thread but I don't want to make another thread with terminal emulator on it but here's my question my terminal emulator doesn't show the history while scrolling the tackball up. I've tried to uninstall and reinstall fixed busybody I'm stumped I can deal with it its just annoying.
     
  12. 50cals

    50cals Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Tablet / Device:
    Ideos s7
    I have not had good experience with the terminal emulator on the S7, I just connect to pc now and just use ADB thru cmd.
     
  13. xaueious

    xaueious Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,483
    Likes Received:
    435
    Trophy Points:
    222
    Location:
    Canada
    Tablet / Device:
    Asus Transformer TF300, Huwaei Ideos S7-104, HSG X5A, (Past APAD IMX515, APAD RK2808, RK2818 RT7)
    Jackpal terminal emulator works on my S7. I have busybox installed. Remember type type 'su' before issuing any root commands.
     
  14. jhsband84

    jhsband84 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    Texas
    Tablet / Device:
    Huawei S7
    I installed Jackpal emulator, but I'm getting permission denied when typing su. Superuser didn't ask for permission the first time I ran it. I do have busybox and z4root in the Superuser app list. How can I force the terminal emulator to ask for permission?

    Edit: It was a capitalization issue. Solved.
     
    Last edited: Apr 13, 2011

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
adb emulator permission denied
,
adb terminal emulator
,

adb terminal permission denied

,
android emulator permission denied windows 7
,
android terminal emulator permission denied su
,
busybox not found di terminal emulator
,
huaeei tablet emulator
,
i m typing su in terminal emulator but its showing not found in android how to fix it
,
says permission denied when using terminal emulator for andriod
,
terminal emulator android permission denied
,
terminal emulator is telling busy box not found
,
terminal emulator tablet
,
terminal not found in busybox
,
terminal shows busybox not found
,
where is the terminal emulator on my android tablet