Tether Problem

Discussion in 'Acer Iconia Tab A500 Forum' started by superdave, Dec 19, 2011.

  1. superdave

    superdave Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Canada
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer 500
    Hi folks,

    I have an Acer 500 wifi tab and an Acer Liquid E phone and cannot get them to tether.

    They pair on bluetooth but will not connect. They connect on PDANET tablet 1.06 but
    will not access the internet.

    Does anyone have experience with this and perhaps a suggestion ?
     
  2. Icebike

    Icebike Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,523
    Likes Received:
    186
    Trophy Points:
    310
    There is a new pda net, version 3.02 that you might try. PdaNet -- USB Tether/Bluetooth DUN for Android

    I think you have to install something on both devices, but neither requires root.
    There are other threads on this in this forum, and I'm pretty sure someone got it working, but
    only for email, maps, and web.

    Try the search.
     
  3. superdave

    superdave Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Canada
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer 500
    tks. I did quite a bit of looking and was under the impression I needed the tablet version which I think the latest is the one I have which is still beta.

    Will keep looking.
     
  4. Icebike

    Icebike Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,523
    Likes Received:
    186
    Trophy Points:
    310
    @Superdave:

    Did you get your update to Acer_A500_7.014.02_COM _GEN2 yet?
    Have you tried tethering since you got it?
     
  5. superdave

    superdave Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Canada
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer 500
    No, nothing so far. Still sitting on Gen. 1. 7.006
    Tried to update but it says I am up to date, for now.
    I will try the tether as soon as I get it and post an update.
     

Share This Page