Tethering to Android

guy.joseph

Dec 21, 2010
Hi

Ok, well I'm very new to this! I'm looking at buying an Android tablet.

I've got a few criteria but the these two are biggies:
  • Can I buy one of the mini USB bluetooth dongles and connect it to a tablet? If so do I need a specific make/model/firmware/hack to get it to work?
  • By using this dongle, can I connect to my phone (T-Mobile G1/HTC Dream) in order to connect to the internet/messaging/GPS?

I would be up for spending some time tinkering with it, but I want a tablet with a decent community to help me out!

Please ask if this a) didn't make sense or b) you want to know more!

Many thanks :)

Guy

jkane

Jun 23, 2010
I think it depends on a lot of things! Like brands of both the tablet and the phone.

I am trying to connect a HTC Desire from USCellular to an Archos 101. No luck so far. First, USCell is still at 2.1 which means hotspot is not available yet.

As is, I can not get the two to talk. I have played with some temporary root applications. I got the phone to talk wifi, but in adhoc mode only. Android does not support adhoc yet. So, no joy there! There is another root hack to turn it on on the tablet. I have not completed tha step yet. Mabye later today.

USB and Bluetooth are both no-go's for me at this point. Not sure if 2.2 on the HTC phone will help. I have heard it might, but no guarantees yet. Even so, when USCell does that, they offer an extra fee to use it. :-(

probbiethe1

Super Moderator
Staff member
Jun 30, 2010
Two answer your questions simply no you cant. like jkane said you cannot connect an android device to an adhoc network without some hacking and that might not even work. jkane is also right there are some phones that when they get 2.2 they have a native wifi hotpsot option but not all and its mostly custom roms that offer it so if you want your tablet to tether to your phone i recommend upgrading from the g1 to a nexus1 and that will solve most of your problems

Fozzer