tethering, usb, who's doing what?

Discussion in 'Gome Flytouch II' started by black_valkyrie, Jan 18, 2011.

  1. black_valkyrie

    black_valkyrie Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    so the whole adhoc thing has kinda messed this up for me. I have an iphone (jailbroken) and I was planning on using it to generate a hotspot for the flytouch... seems as though that wont be happening due to the whole adhoc issue.

    so does anyone tehter via USB to get a connection?

    what are ya'll doing, or are we all simply using whatever free wifi we can find?

    thx
     
  2. pvella

    pvella Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    392
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Tablet / Device:
    Huawei S7
    On my rooted Huawei S7 Barnacle works well, without any modifications at all. Give that program a try.
     
  3. black_valkyrie

    black_valkyrie Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Tried barnacle... does not work on flytouch2 w/ root
     
  4. probbiethe1

    probbiethe1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,838
    Likes Received:
    139
    Trophy Points:
    310
    Location:
    Gilbert, Arizona
    Barnicle is to make an adhoc network, not to allow you to connect to one. If you want your tablet to connect to adhoc network then you need to hack your tablet

    Sent from my incredible using Android Tablet Forum
     
  5. pvella

    pvella Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    392
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Tablet / Device:
    Huawei S7
    Ok missed what the OP was trying to do. On S7 we have to load a custom wpa_supplicant file from xda developers forum.

    Sent from my Ideos S7
     
  6. johnfrankiej

    johnfrankiej Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    Mornington, VIC, Australia
    Tablet / Device:
    Flytouch II
    I have a HTC Desire (un-rooted), it has hot-spot so I just run wireless through phone when away from home. Works a treat.
    It auto connects after I start up hot-spot on phone.
     
  7. black_valkyrie

    black_valkyrie Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    the hydtech mod this works for me but if I connect to another network that’s infrastructure after the adhoc connection, I can’t reconnect to the adhoc without deleting the wpa_supplicant and reloading the modified one. a real pain.
     

Share This Page