Thinking about buying, is Novo's website a good deal?

MartyFried

Oct 15, 2012
I came across this device, and in looking at their website (Ainol Novo - Ainol Novo Android Tablet - Ainol Novo Online Store) found 5 or 6 devices for sale, ranging from $99 to about $159. (Link to cheapest device: http://www.ainol-novo.com/ainol-novo7-elf-ii-7-inch-dual-core-1-5ghz-android-tablet.html)

The $99 one is 8GB with Android 4.0.3, and can be bought with 4.1 for $129. It's so far not clear to me whether this is the only difference. In fact, it's not too clear to me what the difference is between the various models, other than some are 16GB - if anyone can take a look and summarize, I'd be eternally grateful. I will eventually figure it out, I think, but I'm totally new to Android devices.

So, what I'm really wondering about is whether any of you have had any experience buying direct from them. It seems like they are the only ones with any choices when buying. They even have a free option to set it to English language.

Is this a good device for a first-time buyer? I'm a long-time computer hobbyist and programmer, now retired so I don't want to spend a lot. But I'm a Linux user, with several Linux systems (including a web server), one Mac OSX system, and a few old Windows XP systems -not to mention a couple of old iPods, all of which I administer. So, I'm pretty technically adept. In my limited experience, this looks like a fantastic buy, although it all depends on quality and reliability, things I also value.

Thanks for any input you can provide.

Marty Fried
Left Coast, USA

Last edited:

tragidy

Jan 29, 2011
Greetings there I develop a rom for the elf 2 its a nice tab but the aurora is a much better experience.

For $123.00 you can get the aurora 2 which has a much better screen then the elf, I own an elf an auorua and its like night and day for quality,