Thinking of buying an S7

kichigai

Feb 13, 2011
Hello all,

I am rather new to the whole Android scene and I have a few questions about the S7 and Android in general.

1. Why have a rarely heard about this unit in the US. Why?

2. I have heard that there is not really that much storage space for the apps. Can I overcome that issue with a SD card and if I can what is the largest card the S7 can support?

3. Also, I have heard about the upgrade to 2.2 is on the way. Should I just buy one now or wait until the upgrade actually comes out?

4. Does the unit have the real Google Marketplace or it is the AppLib like the Archos units?

5. I was thinking of getting one from the local Best Buy and I am wondering if I should go on a mad such for the model 105 or settle for the 104? What are the differences if the 105 actually exists?

and finally....

6. What are the current owners primary use for the S7?

Thanks

pbrauer

Administrator
Staff member
Sep 24, 2010
1. It is a brand that is usually rebranded by the Telcos
2. Pls read the threads on apps2sd
3. You can, but there is always something to wait for, right?
4. Has full Google market access
5. Not a lot
6. For me, web, mail and ereaders

RoyEP3

Feb 3, 2011
1. It doesn't get advertised. And it sits next to the big boys (iPad and Samsung Galaxy Tab), so people overlook it.
2. As above poster said, there is the apps2sd. I haven't used it yet cause the original storage has been sufficient thus far.
3. If you don't need a tablet right now, I would wait. Especially since the Mobile World Congress is happening tomorrow through Thursday, we expect to get some more news on Huawei's upcoming tablet and possible release dates, and info on other upcoming tablets that may be a better choice.
4. Full marketplace.
5. Not familiar with said models..
- Mobile internet
- Wireless music (connected to wireless speakers) around the house
- Remote Desktop from work
- Mobile TV (with Jetflicks app)
- Navigation
- Video chat (with Fring app)