Thinking of Getting the Acer Iconia 500 But...

Discussion in 'Acer Tablets' started by mrbean1957, Sep 1, 2011.

  1. mrbean1957

    mrbean1957 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    Independence Mo.
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby 7015
    Do I have to go through the rooting hassle like my Coby 7015? And if so why?
     
  2. stevejets85

    stevejets85 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Location:
    Bristol Ct
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer A500
  3. jak

    jak Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer A500
    I have not rooted mine. I think main reason for rooting the a500 is to get Netflix steaming to work. I've not seen any other compelling reason to root it.

    Sent from my A500 using Android Tablet Forum
     
  4. ggravier

    ggravier Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    Sciez, France
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia Tab A700, Samsung Galaxy S, Samsung Galaxy S2, , Samsung Galaxy S3
    Why did YOU root your Coby? The reason you rooted your Coby is probably the same you'd want to root your A500. I haven't felt the need to root my Samsung Galaxy S, SII, and now Acer A500. It's nicely running Android 3.1, it's rock stable, it doesn what I need it to do. No need to root it, for me, in my day to day use.
     
  5. mrbean1957

    mrbean1957 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    Independence Mo.
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby 7015
    I rooted the Coby to get market access, that was the only reason.
     
  6. ggravier

    ggravier Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    Sciez, France
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia Tab A700, Samsung Galaxy S, Samsung Galaxy S2, , Samsung Galaxy S3
    Acer A500 with the default Acer firmware has the market. Unless something is really wrong in your country. :) You don't need to root.
     
  7. strider_mt2k

    strider_mt2k Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Messages:
    406
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Southern New Jersey, USA
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500
    The experience you gained with the POS will only help you with a real one.
    I worked with trying to make two different POS machines work right before seeing the light and getting a real one.
     
  8. Douvie

    Douvie Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,030
    Likes Received:
    71
    Trophy Points:
    132
    Location:
    Kyneton, Australia
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500 & Sumsung Galaxy Note 10.1
    like ggravier said you don't need to root the A500 - the market is std feature. I've run a variety of apps on mine that were not ACER issue. Even most android phone apps work.
     
  9. mrbean1957

    mrbean1957 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    Independence Mo.
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby 7015
    Well I have decided on going for the A100 the 7" Acer, was hoping to nail one down at Best Buy on the Black Friday sale, but they sold out quick! As far as the Coby being a POS, I don't quite agree with that. It's given me good service, rarely locks up... pretty much everything I want from the market works on it. I just want something quicker with more storage. I hope the A100 will work with my keyboard case that the Coby is in.
     
  10. Sir Robin

    Sir Robin Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    70
    Location:
    N37 07 W93 21
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color,Kyros MID7015, AcerIconia500, Kindle Fire, Vtab
    Rooting is very easy like they said, my main reason for rooting was to use titanium backup, and for the fact that I own it and should get to do with it what I please even if it is a a brick or security risk.
     
  11. Douvie

    Douvie Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,030
    Likes Received:
    71
    Trophy Points:
    132
    Location:
    Kyneton, Australia
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500 & Sumsung Galaxy Note 10.1
    Do you do your jousts with your tablet. A500 with 2 cracked screens and another make with damage?

    Ouch!
     

Share This Page