Transfering files with Kies

Discussion in 'Samsung Galaxy Note/Tab' started by ojustaboo, May 1, 2011.

  1. ojustaboo
    Offline

    ojustaboo Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Norfolk UK
    Hi all

    As of yesterday am a proud and happy owner of a Galaxy Tab :)

    I have used Handbrake to transcode some Movies into the correct format, when I use Kies to transfer them, even though I drag them into the movies folder showing in Kies, it's putting them into the camera directory on the tablet and I'm having to manually move each one to the move directory.

    What am I doing wrong please?

    Thanks
  2. vferrari
    Offline

    vferrari Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2010
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    NULL
    Why don't you just mount the drive containing the desired folder under windows and simply use explorer or your windows file manager of choice to drag the handbrake files to the desired folder. You don't really need to kies to do this.
  3. jbjtkbw00
    Offline

    jbjtkbw00 Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    Tablet / Device:
    Galaxy Tab - T-Mo
    +1 on this. I just did this EXACT thing with 4 movies today and it couldn't have been easier or quicker.
  4. piercer
    Offline

    piercer Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Palmdale
    Tablet / Device:
    Samsung Galaxy Tab P1010
    I noticed that the default setting for the galaxy tab was to connect to the computer using Kies. And I did not appreciate that much as the transfer rate is extremely slow. You can change it though to mount as mass storage. You will be able to manage your files on the tab like how you do it in your computer or hard drive. Also, part of the disk space mounts like an external disk so you can make use of that also.
  5. ojustaboo
    Offline

    ojustaboo Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Norfolk UK
    Many thanks all.

    That did the trick
  6. MaxTcee
    Offline

    MaxTcee Junior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    sOUTH jERS
    Tablet / Device:
    aNDROID On hD2
    use samba its the best wireless file transfer ever its in the market and its free
    it puts your tablets harddrive and sd card on your pc wirelessly
    youll never have to mount unmount use kies need your data cable nothing !!!!
  7. vferrari
    Offline

    vferrari Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2010
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    NULL
    Does Samba require root? If so, that may be a non-starter for some newbies who don't want to go there with their tab. Just sayin' - though it looks like an awesome app.
  8. MaxTcee
    Offline

    MaxTcee Junior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    sOUTH jERS
    Tablet / Device:
    aNDROID On hD2
    nope dont need root just install
    only thing you must be have pc and tab on same wifi for first configure
  9. vferrari
    Offline

    vferrari Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2010
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    NULL
    Would not install for me - said it needed Super User access, so that's why I ask. Perhaps I'm installing the wrong version? Using a WiFi only Tab.

    Sent from my LS670 using Android Tablet Forum
  10. MaxTcee
    Offline

    MaxTcee Junior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    sOUTH jERS
    Tablet / Device:
    aNDROID On hD2
    dont recall it asking me for root
    i could be wrong sorry
  11. bartlaroc
    Offline

    bartlaroc Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    Tablet / Device:
    GT-P1000
  12. blaz
    Offline

    blaz Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Sorry, (newbie here looking at Galaxy), but how do you connect your Galaxy to PC if you're not using wifi?
  13. AnimaTechnica
    Offline

    AnimaTechnica Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    791
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    california
    Tablet / Device:
    Droid, Haipad 701, Rooted Nook Color
  14. blaz
    Offline

    blaz Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Thanks.

    On Android phones you apparently do this:
    Only then is the Android device recognized by the PC. Does the the Samsung Galaxy tablet require something similar?
  15. AnimaTechnica
    Offline

    AnimaTechnica Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    791
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    california
    Tablet / Device:
    Droid, Haipad 701, Rooted Nook Color
    yes that is how to get the SGT ready to transfer files but your PC still needs the driver to recognize it as a viable USB device

Share This Page