Turn Nook Tablet into Android tablet WITHOUT voiding warranty?

Jan 1, 2012
Ok, so after spending 3 days worth of research, buying a microSD card, and a full 7 frustrating hours trying to make a boot SD in order to turn my Nook into an Android tablet, I find out it wasn't working because all the instructions were for the Nook COLOR, not TABLET! Oh my.
So, my question now is: is there anything that can be done, to date, with the Tablet? I read that the Tablet is locked to prevent the hacking, but I am not sure what the date was on that info. Please note... I have the warranty on my tablet (and with my luck I will probably need it), so I do not want to do anything to it that will void it. I am sure that after the warranty runs out, I wouldn't mind. I have tried to read through some forums on here because it sounds like there are some things I could do. However, although I love my gadgets and figure everything out without reading manuals, I am not a programer or have enough indepth knowledge of all this. I am not sure if it makes a difference, but I have updated it to the 1.4.1 software version, and the microSD card I got was a Patriot 32GB Class10. I would greatly apprecate any help!
I am currently overseas with the military, so if there is anything I need to buy, I will have to order and wait almost 2 weeks for it.

FPGFHFMA

Dec 13, 2011
See all the posts by member Indirect and also the YOU TUBE Posts by Albert Wertz they include step by step instructions for everything you could want to do. You could also search You Tube using Nook Tablet his video's will walk you through the steps.

Jan 1, 2012
Thank you for all your help. I wish I had researched and found out to not download that update... before I updated!

geesh... update download is expected to take 8 hrs!

Jan 1, 2012
when I restore back to the original version, will I loose all settings, apps, books, etc. since it has to reboot 8 times?

Jan 1, 2012