Unlock screen (nook color)

Discussion in 'Nook Color Technical' started by Trixiem, Feb 16, 2011.

  1. Trixiem

    Trixiem Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    I just purchased a nook color and got it rooted with auto nooter. Finally have it set up how i like it. Is there anyway to switch to using the line pass code system like most phones have instead of using numbers? im talking about the unlock screen for the device.
     
  2. darmeen

    darmeen Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,007
    Likes Received:
    119
    Trophy Points:
    162
    Location:
    Texas
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color
    Using numbers? I have to say that I am completely stumped with what you are talking about.

    Are you running a custom screen locker?

    You must have some custom app running that is overrunning the normal screen locker.

    A little more detail would help.
     
  3. Stelv

    Stelv Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    800
    Likes Received:
    53
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    Western, NY
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color Rooted
    I don't think you can set a custom lock pattern or pin number lock screen on an autonootered nook. Possibly within custom Roms though, when they start to become stable releases.
     
  4. rico2001

    rico2001 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,599
    Likes Received:
    264
    Trophy Points:
    222
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    Tablet / Device:
    NOOKcolor
    Yea I don't think the "number" lock screen is available yet, perhaps on one of the custom 2.2 ROMs. I think I have seen a different two sided "slide" unlocker, similar to at&t phones, floating around the net for the NC.
     
  5. jonesygirl

    jonesygirl Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    PA
    Tablet / Device:
    Rooted NOOKcolor, HTC Aria
    I think they are asking about password protection? In settings you can set up a passcode (4 digit number) that is required to power on or unlock the device. On most Android phones, you can change this to a pattern that you would draw with your finger.

    I haven't seen anyway to change it from 4 digit number to drawn pattern, but I also would prefer this option. Sorry I can't be of more help.

    PS: I have the passcode option and used autonooter.

    Sent from my HTC Aria using Android Tablet Forum App
     
    • Like Like x 2
  6. darmeen

    darmeen Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,007
    Likes Received:
    119
    Trophy Points:
    162
    Location:
    Texas
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color
    Jonesygirl gets a big Gold Star! That appears to be exactly what they are talking about...and no, there doesn't appear to be a way to change that right now...as we start getting into custom ROM's I am sure something like this will become available, but not just yet.

    For those wondering what is being discussed...

    Tap the center up arrow thing to bring up the B&N UI taskbar>>>Settings>>>Security>>> From there you can change the passcode and require the passcode (with a checkbox)

    I never bothered to use that as my nook never seems to leave my side! lol
     
  7. darmeen

    darmeen Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,007
    Likes Received:
    119
    Trophy Points:
    162
    Location:
    Texas
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color
    You could always turn off the passcode and use the slidelock to unlock the screen...unless you are worried about prying eyes or theft. Like I said in the post above, until we get into some custom ROM's, this is what we have to use.

    Or you could always buy an app like widget locker, but I don't think there is a setting in there either.

    Anyone with widget locker installed want to verify?
     
  8. Stelv

    Stelv Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    800
    Likes Received:
    53
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    Western, NY
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color Rooted
    Widget Locker doesn't have a lock security option. It relies on system for lock pattern, password, etc.

    sent from my rooted nook color
     
  9. darmeen

    darmeen Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,007
    Likes Received:
    119
    Trophy Points:
    162
    Location:
    Texas
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color
    Thanks Steve

    No trees were harmed in the sending of this message; however, a large number of electrons were terribly inconvenienced.
     
  10. Stelv

    Stelv Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    800
    Likes Received:
    53
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    Western, NY
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color Rooted
    No problem :)

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  11. Trixiem

    Trixiem Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    thanks guys. i was refering to the draw to unlock. Ive had a full day to explore the nook, as its my first android item. For what it is, its a great investment.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
hoe do i get past slide lock screen on nook color tablet
,
how to change lock message nook rooted
,
how to set a draw lock on a nook color
,
how to unlock a nuk screen tablets
,
how to unlock nook color screen
,
set up nookcolor security code
,

unlock nook screen

,
unlock phone for color messages