unresponsive screen in TF300

Discussion in 'Asus TF300 Forum' started by jasonzhang2002, Apr 29, 2012.

  1. jasonzhang2002

    jasonzhang2002 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    seattle
    Tablet / Device:
    galaxy
    I finally got my TF300 and excited. This is my first real tablet. But I got frustrated in no time. I started the setup. The screen became unresponsive when it asked me whether I'd like to restore my settings. I pressed the power key. I could see the popup dialog asking me whether I want to shut it down. But I could not interact with it since the screen was unresponsive. Reset and cold boot did not solve the problem. I frustrated and went to sleep. The screen became responsive next morning.

    But from time to time, the screen became unresponsive. After a while, for example, 10 minutes, it worked again. Firmware update seemed relieving the problem but did not solve it. I decide to return it and get a new one. Hopefully I will not get disappionted at this time. Otherwise, ....

    -jason
     
  2. Frederuco

    Frederuco Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    1,980
    Likes Received:
    502
    Trophy Points:
    314
    Location:
    /EARTH/USA/NC/
    Tablet / Device:
    ASUS TF101
    That sucks. I hope it was just a defective tablet. I know a bunch of other satisfied TF300 users that have not had this issue.

    Either that, or you have a defective finger!

    :D
     
  3. tazz3

    tazz3 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    east islip n.y
    its a defective tablet. i got the 300 last week from amazon and it works awesome. take it back and get a new one
     
  4. McBAMF

    McBAMF Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Tablet / Device:
    TF300
    Just opened my TF300...same problem. It asks me to set up the tablet but I can't interact with the display at all. Every once in a while it will respond, but nothing consistent. I figured it needed the full 8 hour charge, but I'm suspecting they put out a bad batch of these tablets.
     
  5. Frederuco

    Frederuco Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    1,980
    Likes Received:
    502
    Trophy Points:
    314
    Location:
    /EARTH/USA/NC/
    Tablet / Device:
    ASUS TF101
    Welcome to the forum!

    Sounds like you have a dud. Send it back for a new one.
     
  6. McBAMF

    McBAMF Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Tablet / Device:
    TF300
    Yeah, I contacted ASUS twice. Their resolutions included a cold boot and a data wipe. Neither made a difference. I hit up amazon and am returning the unit today. Should have a new one on Monday.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 12, 2012
  7. nezbokaj

    nezbokaj Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    I recieved my second tf300 today, and they both had this issue. Its such a shame since i really like everything else about the tablet.

    Edit: It seems like some of the times it is only unresponsive in the android menubar and not the open apps/homepage. Quite odd.
     
    Last edited: May 30, 2012
  8. jimbo7630

    jimbo7630 Guest

    A temporary solution for the unresponsive screen is to plug in and use a mouse to navigate the screen. It's not ideal and not a permanent solution but it will at least let you use the tabet before returning it.

    Edit:> I presume you've tried the Screen Calibration thingy?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 30, 2012
  9. Frederuco

    Frederuco Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    1,980
    Likes Received:
    502
    Trophy Points:
    314
    Location:
    /EARTH/USA/NC/
    Tablet / Device:
    ASUS TF101
    Check the Settings - ASUS Settings. There is one in there to kill the touchscreen on the status bar in there. Make sure this is not ticked.
     
  10. dwlva

    dwlva Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Tablet / Device:
    ASUS TF300
    This is not an isolated problem. I have same thing happening. Got TF300 32 GB and keyboard from Amazon in June. Like it a great deal. Some time in July had unresponsive screen with tablet in hand. Plugged into keyboard and was able to operate. Waited a while, overnight maybe, tablet in hand was operable again. No repeat for a while. Lately it recurrs more often. Cold boot does not restore operation. Have tried removing various apps with no improvement. Close to boiling point with this, wanted keyboard for occasional use- not for routine ops and rescuing a malfunctioning screen, for that I could have bought something else. Web scouring is not revealing any useful info. I have not gone to ASUS yet. Seek advice here.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
amazon sign in screen unresponsive on android
,
asus tf 300 noresposiive
,
asus tf 300 screen freeze
,
asus tf300 page become unresponsive
,
asus tf300 screen not responding fix
,

asus tf300 unresponsive

,
asus tf300 unresponsive screen
,
asus tf300t screen frozen
,

asus tf300t touch screen calibration

,
asus tf300t touch screen not responding
,
asus tf300t unresponsive screen
,
asus transformer tf300t screen calibration
,

asus transformer touch screen unresponsive

,
calibrate asus tablet
,
calibrate asus tf300
,
calibrate tf300 screen
,
how to align screen in asus tablet
,
how to calibrate screen asus transformer tf300
,
tf300 kalibrieren
,
when i turn my asus transformer tf300 on the screen stay on welcome