update.zip from Coby (build MID7015A 1.6a 1/26/11)

Discussion in 'Coby Generation 1 Technical' started by l_n, Feb 10, 2011.

  1. l_n
    Offline

    l_n Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    790
    Likes Received:
    99
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    TN, USA
    Tablet / Device:
    Mid7015
    There is a new update.zip available at Coby USA's website. You have to open the instructional video for the UPGRADE, and the link for the download is at the bottom of the window along with a link to PDF instructions.

    I'm going to install it now. I will report back with versioning and any new features I notice.

    Warning: You are advised not to install this update if you have a device that has been already rooted and setup via the Ultimate Guide, as you will temporarily lose root and possibly other functionality.
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 11, 2011
    • Like Like x 6
  2. InFamoUs
    Offline

    InFamoUs Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Thanks Please report back any good improvements or changes
  3. l_n
    Offline

    l_n Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    790
    Likes Received:
    99
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    TN, USA
    Tablet / Device:
    Mid7015
    i will as soon as i get the stock recovery to behave...
  4. l_n
    Offline

    l_n Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    790
    Likes Received:
    99
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    TN, USA
    Tablet / Device:
    Mid7015
    okay. firmware is still 2.1-update1 (aka eclair). model number changes to MID7015A and the Build number is now MID7015A 1.6a 01/26/11.

    First boot is slow. ridiculously so. launcher won't respond for 30-45 seconds (or so it seemed). /system has been formatted again. data and cache are untouched. will push SuperUser.apk and su back on shortly and test the gapps installation.

    ro.secure is now set to 1. will try fastboot oem unlock to see if i can root it without an exploit.
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2011
  5. Sue7M3
    Offline

    Sue7M3 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    The Big Apple
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color (Rooted)
    Keep us posted! If updating means having to root the thing all over again and then reinstall all apps, I'm not sure I'm willing to do that unless this update brings some really noticeable improvements.
  6. l_n
    Offline

    l_n Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    790
    Likes Received:
    99
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    TN, USA
    Tablet / Device:
    Mid7015
    z4root works (and rather quickly at that). manual installation of root utilities is not possible now. 'adb root' won't work. i get the error message that adbd can't be run as root on production builds.

    apps are still there (not gapps, though. /system got formatted). flash_image will have to be pushed onto the tablet via adb. there are no dev/debugging tools left on the device.

    i've got clockworkmod reinstalled, and i'm going to test the gapps suite. installing clockworkmod and gapps is going to take some more adb work than it previously did. / is mounted r/o and /system is still r/w. /system/xbin is gone.

    securing the build is an interesting change from coby. i wonder if they meant to release an engineering build with the last two updates or if it was just an oversight.
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2011
  7. kplasters
    Offline

    kplasters Junior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    NULL
    Yeah, I'm with Sue7M3 on this one. Unless it's a super-duper update I'd hate to have to go through all that again. Thanks for keeping us updated.
  8. l_n
    Offline

    l_n Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    790
    Likes Received:
    99
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    TN, USA
    Tablet / Device:
    Mid7015
    gapps work still. and if you don't wipe data/cache, you don't have to setup your accounts and such again. the installation process for clockworkmod is going to generate a lot of frustration with the less-technical minded.
  9. Sue7M3
    Offline

    Sue7M3 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    The Big Apple
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color (Rooted)
    Looks like we're better off without it. All it did was lock down the device so it can't be rooted easily, yes?
  10. l_n
    Offline

    l_n Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    790
    Likes Received:
    99
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    TN, USA
    Tablet / Device:
    Mid7015
    i think apps lib was updated... :p

    i haven't tested much else. been busy trying to get it back to a usable state after /system was butchered.

    Update: waking issue is still present. I'm not sure what they changed for the better other than the supposed appslib update...
  11. l_n
    Offline

    l_n Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    790
    Likes Received:
    99
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    TN, USA
    Tablet / Device:
    Mid7015
    Found something strange.. quite a few of the new files are dated with timestamp indicating they were created on the unix epoch or 08/08/08, depending on which partition the file resides in.

    Sent from my MID7015A using Tapatalk
  12. Fairy_Princess
    Offline

    Fairy_Princess Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA
    Tablet / Device:
    Kyros 7015A Rooted and Marketed.
    Bloody Nass, I installed this without checking here first. Anyone know a walkthrough to remove this update or work around it to install clockworkmod and Google Apps?
  13. l_n
    Offline

    l_n Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    790
    Likes Received:
    99
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    TN, USA
    Tablet / Device:
    Mid7015
    I do. I'll type it up later. Right now I have to get ready to go to work.
  14. Ridgeland
    Offline

    Ridgeland Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Ridgeland, WI, USA
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby MID7015-4G
    Losing debug (adb) is a show stopper for me. Z4root to fix it. I never needed Z4root before. I just installed Superuser.apk and copied over su.
    AppsLib you can already update.
    Re-installing 50 apps is easy using a Linux bash script with a loop "adb install $file", BUT only if you have adb!
    Wonder what this update fixes and what it breaks, besides adb. I'll stay tuned...
  15. l_n
    Offline

    l_n Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    790
    Likes Received:
    99
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    TN, USA
    Tablet / Device:
    Mid7015
    adb still works, but you can't elevate it to root privileges without unpacking the boot.img and changing the default.prop.

    Instructions for clockworkmod coming later when I have more time.

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
coby cyros mid7015a tablet price
,
coby mid7015a update
,
coby model mid7015a price
,

coby update zip

,
how to update tablet mid7015a cpbby
,
mid 7015a
,
mid7015a
,
mid7015a update
,
mid7015a update zip
,
read pdf in mid7015a model in coby
,

reflash bootloader on coby kyros 7015

,

superuser elevate mid7015