Updating but unsure...

Discussion in 'Android Tablet Discussions' started by Runarsson, Mar 25, 2013.

  1. Runarsson

    Runarsson Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Sweden
    Tablet / Device:
    Samsung Galaxy Note GT-N8010
    Got Jelly Bean to my Galaxy Note 10.1 today and want to update. But I'm a loser in the field....

    Samsung's page says like this about updating:
    1. Backup
    2. Factory reset
    3. Update
    4. Factory reset
    5. Restore the backed up stuff

    All this factory resetting... doesn't that wipe apps and stuff away, or is the entire device backed up in Kies? Other guys have said that they just updated, without any factory resetting. What's the difference?
     
  2. leeshor

    leeshor Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Messages:
    6,331
    Likes Received:
    1,037
    Trophy Points:
    700
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    Tablet / Device:
    Samsung Galaxy Tab S 10.5
    Welcome to the forum

    The way they suggested is the way NOT to have ANY problems, but yes, it wipes out the data and the apps, (which can easily be recovered again either from the Kies backup or directly from the Google Store). But yes, many people have just applied the update and didn't have any problems. Best to at least restart your Tab just before applying. They are suggesting that process to make certain they don't get the blame if you DO have a problem. ;) It's called CYA.
     

Share This Page