Viewpad 10 doesn't work with 4GB RAM PC3-10600 SODIMM

Discussion in 'Viewsonic Tablets' started by dleite, Apr 7, 2011.

  1. dleite

    dleite Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    Ottawa
    Tablet / Device:
    Viewtab 10
    Any ideas?

    I tried upgrading my RAM to 4GB (PC3-10600 1333Hz) and the tablet would not boot up. The battery LED kept flashing.

    I will try 2 GB next week.

    But after looking at newegg.com i see so many PC3-10600 stated as system specific. So does this mean that even if I get a 2GB stick not all PC3-10600 will work with the Viewpad?

    What originally came out of the Viewpad was a Samsung stick. I put in a Corsair stick.
     
  2. RckyBobby

    RckyBobby Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    Md
    Tablet / Device:
    Viewpad10
    I think the specs say it only supports up to 2GB of RAM.

    Sent from my ADR6300 using Android Tablet Forum
     
  3. Fuganater

    Fuganater Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Messages:
    728
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    102
    LOL are you even supposed to be able to upgrade RAM in a tablet?
     
  4. dleite

    dleite Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    Ottawa
    Tablet / Device:
    Viewtab 10
    Not allowed to upgrade much in a tablet... they make it difficult, that's for sure. But it's possible if you try.

    Yeah, I found the specs AFTER i bought the RAM.
     
  5. Carbira1

    Carbira1 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    514
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Michigan
    Tablet / Device:
    Waiting for a good iPod Touch Android Device
    Did you have to solder the ram?
     
  6. dleite

    dleite Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    Ottawa
    Tablet / Device:
    Viewtab 10
    Nope, it's a regular PC3-10600 SODIMM and clips in like laptop RAM DIMM. I bought the 4GB thinking there'd be no problem but after purchasing I found on google the max is 2GB.

    The only tricky thing is to get the RAM out. It is under the main motherboard. So if you take the back panel of the Viewpad off, the RAM is under the board (closest to the screen). You have to take the SSD out first, and a couple ribbon cables to make it easy. The ribbon cables are easy to take off and put back on (unlike some of the Sony or Panasonic stuff).
     
  7. Pyro6128

    Pyro6128 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    70
    Location:
    NULL
    How is it with the 2gb?

    Sent from my VEGAn-TAB-v1.0.0b5.1.1 using Tapatalk
     
  8. jeffc83

    jeffc83 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Tablet / Device:
    Currently: Coby Kyros 7015,Viewsonic Gtablet
    Have you gotten it to work with 2 gigabytes???

    Sent from my Droid using Android Tablet Forum
     
  9. RckyBobby

    RckyBobby Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    Md
    Tablet / Device:
    Viewpad10
  10. GTablet

    GTablet Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
  11. RckyBobby

    RckyBobby Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    Md
    Tablet / Device:
    Viewpad10
    this is only for the dual boot viewpad 10, i am pretty sure the G Tablet's RAM is soldered on the board
     
  12. GTablet

    GTablet Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    You are correct... it is... sorry for the foolish question :(
     
  13. RckyBobby

    RckyBobby Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    Md
    Tablet / Device:
    Viewpad10
    No such thing as a foolish question.

    Sent from my ADR6300 using Android Tablet Forum
     
  14. dleite

    dleite Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    Ottawa
    Tablet / Device:
    Viewtab 10
    If I had the G-tab, I would've opened it myself, just to look.

    Otherwise, the upgrade is not hard. Unscrew all the case screws and remove the back. Remove all the motherboard screws and SSD. Unseat the ribbon cables. Don't worry, they are really easy to put back in place. The RAM sits between the circuit board and the screen, so you have to lift the motherboard a bit to get the DIMM out, but it is like a laptop DIMM so you just need to release the clips and insert the new RAM. Firmly press the RAM in, DON'T PUSH!! Put everything back together again. While you are inside the device, maybe remove the 3G reader and put in a SD card reader, or a USB stick soldered to a small USB hub wired to the onboard USB slot (just a modding suggestion).
     
  15. gierso

    gierso Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Tablet / Device:
    gtablet
    We gtablet owners just have to ssolder :)



    Im an electronis engineer good at hand soldering some surface soldering stuff

    Does some know if soldering same kind of memory chips will make it to recognize the memory right away??? sorry for the half-offtopic i yet have to open mine :p

    Sent from my GTablet using Tapatalk
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
4gb ram android tablet
,

can we change ram in viewsonic viewpad 10

,
g tablet ram upgrade
,
tablet sodimm 10600
,
upgrade viewpad memory
,
viewpad 10 android upgrade
,
viewpad 10 ram
,
viewpad 10e ram upgrade
,
viewpad 10s android upgrade
,
viewpad 10s ram upgrade
,

viewsonic viewpad 10 memory upgrade