Vizio VTAB1008 wifi disconnect problem

Discussion in 'Vizio Tablets' started by Bloodhound, Mar 8, 2013.

  1. Bloodhound
    Offline

    Bloodhound Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    TN
    Tablet / Device:
    Vizio VTab1008, Nexus 7
    I have a Vizio Vtab1008 that I use mainly to sync MS Outlook data with DejaOffice over a wifi connection. This worked
    fine with my linksys router. This week I bought a new DSL Visionnet modem/router from my DSL provider. All of the wired
    connections work with no problem. However, the Vizio tablet now disconnects and reconnects every minute. Vizio
    offered several options, but none fixed the problem. The only option left was to reset the tablet and reload everything
    with no guarantee that it would fix the problem. I also have a new Nexus 7 tablet that works fine with the new router
    with no disconnects.

    I still need to use the Vizio tablet. Does anyone have a solution to the wifi disconnect problem?
  2. Spider
    Offline

    Spider Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    14,168
    Likes Received:
    1,697
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Tablet / Device:
    NOOK Tablet Stock NOOKcolor Rooted/Flashed Nexus 7 (2013) 32GB
    Hi Bloodhound, welcome to the forum, nice to have you as a member of Android Tablets. I'm moving your thread to the Vizio Tablets forum for you, where more people familiar with your Vtab are likely to join the discussion and try to help you. Good luck!
    • Like Like x 2
  3. J515OP
    Offline

    J515OP Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    5,174
    Likes Received:
    899
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Northern CA
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color, Nook Tablet 16GB, Vizio VTab, Nexus 7
    Hi Bloodhound, welcome. Try installing the latest firmware on your new router. Once updated power down the router for 30 seconds then power back on.
    • Like Like x 4
  4. SEMIJim
    Offline

    SEMIJim Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    S.E. Michigan, U.S.A.
    Tablet / Device:
    Vizio VTAB1008, Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 10.1
    Hi Bloodhound. Welcome to the forum.

    I don't have an answer to your question. I guess first I'd look to the new router's configuration, to see if there's something in there that's giving the VTAB trouble. FWIW: I've never had a problem with my VTAB with any wireless AP or router, anywhere.

    I've had three different ones at home: A very old Linksys WRT54G, a Foundary IronPoint AP and, currently, a Netgear AP. No problem using any of them. Even the Foundary, when it started dying, and a friend's iPad was having trouble establishing and maintaining a connection.

    Jim
    • Like Like x 2
  5. Bloodhound
    Offline

    Bloodhound Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    TN
    Tablet / Device:
    Vizio VTab1008, Nexus 7
    Thanks for all of the feedback. I have not located a firmware update for the modem/router yet. I plan to contact my DSL provider Monday
    to see if they can help with that.
  6. Bloodhound
    Offline

    Bloodhound Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    TN
    Tablet / Device:
    Vizio VTab1008, Nexus 7
    I contacted my DSL provider this morning - who also supplied the modem/router. They said that it already had the latest firmware.

    They had another suggestion:
    They created another network with slightly lower security. I connected the Vizio to it and after several minutes it is still connected.

    I still have the original network available for other connections.

    Bloodhound
  7. J515OP
    Offline

    J515OP Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    5,174
    Likes Received:
    899
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Northern CA
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color, Nook Tablet 16GB, Vizio VTab, Nexus 7
    Glad to hear you got a working solution.
    • Like Like x 2
  8. SEMIJim
    Offline

    SEMIJim Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    S.E. Michigan, U.S.A.
    Tablet / Device:
    Vizio VTAB1008, Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 10.1
    I wonder what "slightly lower security" means? If it's WPA vs. WPA2: No problem. But if it's WPA/WPA2 -> WEP: Not good.

    Jim
    • Like Like x 2
  9. Bloodhound
    Offline

    Bloodhound Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    TN
    Tablet / Device:
    Vizio VTab1008, Nexus 7
    Both networks on the tablet say "Secured with WPA/WPA2 PSK"

    On the router:
    The added (Vizio) network shows up as "Guest" with "WPA2 -PSK"
    The original network has "Mixed WPA2/WPA -PSK"

    Bloodhound

Share This Page