VTAB1008 Android 3.2.1

Discussion in 'Vizio Tablets' started by kroels, Mar 12, 2012.

  1. kroels

    kroels Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Tablet / Device:
    Vizio VTAB 1008
    Okay, I am running Honeycomb on VTAB1008.

    SN TFCILAAM2931475

    Android 3.2.1

    Kernel 2.6.35.7+

    Just got the update notification and loaded it without a seocnd thought - dangerous I know. My tablet was not rooted so I am running stock everything. I'm going to take a few hours and try all my stuff out before reporting back.
     
  2. james23p

    james23p Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Memphis
    Tablet / Device:
    Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 7.0
    I to just uploaded the honeycomb update and from the little I see I love it! Thanks Vizio.

    Just to add the tablet seems faster and the back and home keys seem more responsive.

    Jim
     
  3. rmleonard

    rmleonard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    United States
    Tablet / Device:
    Vizio VTAB1008
    Downloading now...
    we'll see...

    UPDATE: (#1) :
    getting "android.process.acore" errors... I used to get them every now and then, but now it seems that every few minutes I am getting it....
    More investigation needed.... (some of the internet forums say to factory wipe a device to get rid of error - ouch)

    Rich
     
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2012
  4. kroels

    kroels Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Tablet / Device:
    Vizio VTAB 1008
    First glance, everything I had installed stilled worked w/o modifications: Facebook, Amazon/MP3/Kindle/Market, Google/Market/+/Gmail, OneNote, Ebay, Evernote, etc. The only think I had to do so far was to re-do my settings for the generic Email client to go to my generic POP account in the sky.

    I notice B&N Nook, Books, Hulu+, Movie Studio and Videos on there, couldnot remember if they all existed before the update or not.

    Seems a bit snappier performance-wise.

    Notifications actually works like you want it to now.

    I need a good way to test an see if the external card is used the "right" way by any apps now, willing to take suggestions...
     
  5. drum4ever

    drum4ever Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2011
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    Broken Arrow, OK
    Tablet / Device:
    Vtab 1008
    downloading now......
     
  6. kroels

    kroels Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Tablet / Device:
    Vizio VTAB 1008
    Sorry for the confusion - Books, Movies, Market all changed to "Play (Books, Movies or Market) to fit Googles new naming after I updated all the apps.
     
  7. HydroCarbon

    HydroCarbon Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Location:
    Alabama
    Tablet / Device:
    Vtab 1008
    How long does the update take? Downloaded update, followed on screen prompts, now hung at "V" start screen.
     
  8. J515OP

    J515OP Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    5,172
    Likes Received:
    898
    Trophy Points:
    312
    Location:
    Northern CA
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color, Nook Tablet 16GB, Vizio VTab, Nexus 7
    Finally! I'm not breaking root until I know more though. Glad you guys are happy so far.
     
  9. J515OP

    J515OP Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    5,172
    Likes Received:
    898
    Trophy Points:
    312
    Location:
    Northern CA
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color, Nook Tablet 16GB, Vizio VTab, Nexus 7
    Find an app that requires and SD card and try installing it/using it without an SD card inserted. If the app works then it is using the "vizio sd card" and not the real sd card. If it gives you a notification to insert an SD card then it is using the external SD card "the right way."

    JP
     
  10. drum4ever

    drum4ever Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2011
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    Broken Arrow, OK
    Tablet / Device:
    Vtab 1008
    Took maybe 3 or 4 minutes from the V logo. layout is changed a bit. Control buttons are different. Notification bar is at bottom and shortcut bar at top. SD card shows in memory and old sdcard status is now onboard storage BUT I still cant move apps to SD card with native software, only between tablet and onboard storage. Haven't tried a 3rd party installer yet. Someone with a BT keyboard needs to test for compatibility. Things are laid out a bit better. Still testing though. Apps written for a different size screen put an icon next to the clock to zoom or stretch to fit. stay tuned....
     
    • Like Like x 4
  11. J515OP

    J515OP Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    5,172
    Likes Received:
    898
    Trophy Points:
    312
    Location:
    Northern CA
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color, Nook Tablet 16GB, Vizio VTab, Nexus 7
    And the remote app? Any changes?
     
  12. drum4ever

    drum4ever Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2011
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    Broken Arrow, OK
    Tablet / Device:
    Vtab 1008
    looks exactly the same
     
  13. drum4ever

    drum4ever Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2011
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    Broken Arrow, OK
    Tablet / Device:
    Vtab 1008
    All the app to Sd installers I have tried just go to the default tablet or onboard storage install options.

    The news and weather app went away. No big deal but I am downloading other news readers now.
     
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2012
  14. nicklovell23

    nicklovell23 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Tablet / Device:
    VTAB
    Its snappier and the layout is better, I have tried the previously attempted root methods and they are all still a no go so lets hope we get honeycomb rooted...
     
  15. Luckygoof

    Luckygoof Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    Broomfield,CO
    Tablet / Device:
    vizio vtab1008
    I have two problems so far. After the update I couldn't unlock the tab. I use the draw a pattern lock method, but could not see the dots to unlock until I Looked real close. Things are overlapped vertically and my cursoris going all over the place
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
apps not working for vtab 1008
,
error download apps to vizio tablet
,
google market not working vtab honeycomb
,
how to root vizio vtab1008
,
launcher vtab 1008 driver download
,
market download for honeycomb for vizio
,
root vizio VTAB1008
,
set wallpaper not working vtab1008
,
software vtab1008 download
,
vizio 1008 error
,
vizio tablet app download errors
,
vizio tablet limitations vtab1008
,
vizio tablet vtab1008 errors
,
vizio tablet vtab1008 runs slow
,
vizio vtab1008 honeycomb download
,
vizio vtab1008 honeycomb update download
,
vtab1008 hardware buttons not working
,
vtab1008 hardware buttons on screen
,
vtab1008 root
,

vtab1008 update download