VTAB1008 Rooting Help

klpayne

Jan 23, 2012
Hi everyone. This is my first post and my first day on this site. I'm new to using and having an android. I currently have a VTAB1008 version 2.3.2, software ver. V.I.A plus 1.4.
So my questions are these, can someone please point me in the right direction to root my device, start to finish, very basic, step by little detailed step and to the point for dummies. I can learn fast, but having no idea to begin with completely limits me. I really want to learn everything I can and I spent several hours reading posts today before I decided to ask for help. Also, is there a way to unroot it back to stock? If I go through the process of rooting I doubt I would have a reason to go back, but you never know.
Thank all of you in advance and I'm glad I was able to find this site and all of you.

concealer404

Jan 23, 2012
Don't screw yourself like I did. Don't update that thing like I did, you can't root it then.

Beyond that, i'm not much help. There's a big thread on rooting this thing in the vizio section.

Makes two of us today that joined with the vtab1008. :)

Edit: bummer man, i think you're already screwed for the time being until someone else figures out how to root it again. Your info matches mine.

Last edited:

onykage

Jan 11, 2012
I dont see why gingerbreak wont root it. Its 2.3, so gingerbreak should work. And if it doesnt work, no biggy, gingerbreak wont brick the device cus it uses an exploit.

Here is a post i did on rooting.the PD Supernova. The ROM is different but the android version is nearly the same. Maybe 1 revision off i believe.

http://www.AndroidTablets.net/forum/showthread.php?p=175399

Worth a shot at least if you are serious about rooting it. And if you change your mind the just revert back to factory defaults.

concealer404

Jan 23, 2012
Actually, xda is saying that the update to 1.5 killed it.

So i guess since we're apparently still 1.4, we might be ok?