We have Netflix

Discussion in 'Nook Color Technical' started by LocalStain, May 12, 2011.

  1. LocalStain

    LocalStain Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    528
    Likes Received:
    46
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    A very small Island, Planet Earth
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color CM7n, HTC Aria CM7 RC1, Cr-48 Test Pilot,
    • Like Like x 8
  2. AnimaTechnica

    AnimaTechnica Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    789
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    210
    Location:
    california
    Tablet / Device:
    Droid, Haipad 701, Rooted Nook Color
  3. jonesygirl

    jonesygirl Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    PA
    Tablet / Device:
    Rooted NOOKcolor, HTC Aria
    A couple questions. Is this something I can do with my Autonootered 2.1 NCs? Is this something that a novice shouldn't mess with?

    Sent from my HTC Aria using Android Tablet Forum
     
    • Like Like x 2
  4. LocalStain

    LocalStain Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    528
    Likes Received:
    46
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    A very small Island, Planet Earth
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color CM7n, HTC Aria CM7 RC1, Cr-48 Test Pilot,
    It is not overly complicated, however if you are not comfortable editing system files than I would wait a bit. If you are comfortable, it is a matter of editing 4 lines and saving the file. Instructions for doing so are in the link. You do not need ADB only Root Explorer.
     
  5. rico2001

    rico2001 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,599
    Likes Received:
    264
    Trophy Points:
    222
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    Tablet / Device:
    NOOKcolor
    Outstanding find LS. I've been waiting all my life for this! *joking*

    great stuff though, I'll definitely be taking advantage of this when I get home. :)
     
  6. Legobricke

    Legobricke Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Location:
    WPB
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook color
    I only changed it to Nexus S and samsung.

    Did it with Root Explorer and it worked perfectly.

    Allot of people that used the instructions below:
    ro.product.model=HTC Vision
    ro.product.brand=tmobile
    ro.product.name=vision
    ro.product.device=vision
    ro.product.board=vision

    ro.product.manufacturer=HTC

    reported that this broke their access to the market.

    Lego
     
  7. rico2001

    rico2001 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,599
    Likes Received:
    264
    Trophy Points:
    222
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    Tablet / Device:
    NOOKcolor
    Quick instructions:

    and said that both netflix and market work.
     
  8. xfeejayx

    xfeejayx Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    chicago
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color
    stupid question...how do i actually edit the file. copied and saved using root explorer. Don't know how to actually edit the file.

    edit: I don't have the "open in editor" option even when mounted R/W

    edit edit: Open as text in ASTRO, will post results.
     
    Last edited: May 13, 2011
  9. AnimaTechnica

    AnimaTechnica Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    789
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    210
    Location:
    california
    Tablet / Device:
    Droid, Haipad 701, Rooted Nook Color
    Xfeejay here's what i did as it is easier to edit test with a PC - i used root explorer to move the file from nook to a spot in my SD card - connected nook to my pc, opened the file and edited with notepad - saved it back to SD in a different location so i can rename the other one to backup. disconnect PC, go back to root explorer, copy the edited file, navigate to the proper directory (/system), click on Mount R/W, then pasted the edited file, Mount R/O reboot

    watch netflix

     
  10. LocalStain

    LocalStain Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    528
    Likes Received:
    46
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    A very small Island, Planet Earth
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color CM7n, HTC Aria CM7 RC1, Cr-48 Test Pilot,
    Hey y'all hope it is working out for everybody! Wicked busy today but I fell asleep watching "Last Man Standing" with my mittle Nookie cradled in my arms and the warm glow of Netflix reflecting off my face

    [​IMG]

    Blisssssssssssss

    Cheers.

    LS
     
  11. J515OP

    J515OP Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    5,172
    Likes Received:
    898
    Trophy Points:
    312
    Location:
    Northern CA
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color, Nook Tablet 16GB, Vizio VTab, Nexus 7
    Can't wait to try this just a million and one other things to do first :)
     
  12. spdsl

    spdsl Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    70
    Location:
    SouthEast USA
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color
    Modded my build.prop file, now if I could only find the Netflix app @ the Market.:confused:

    I cleared my market app cache but still no hit on the Netflix app.

    Any links to side load the app?

    Running autonooter 3 by the way
     
  13. J515OP

    J515OP Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    5,172
    Likes Received:
    898
    Trophy Points:
    312
    Location:
    Northern CA
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color, Nook Tablet 16GB, Vizio VTab, Nexus 7
    According to Netflix this only works with Android 2.2 or higher (can anybody confirm it works on 2.1?).

    Since you ar autonootered that means you are only 2.1. Time to upgrade to CM7 ;)

    JP
     
  14. AnimaTechnica

    AnimaTechnica Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    789
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    210
    Location:
    california
    Tablet / Device:
    Droid, Haipad 701, Rooted Nook Color
    Yep froyo n gingerbread only

    Sent from my SCH-I800 using Tapatalk
     
  15. mavsrul02

    mavsrul02 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    new jersey
    Tablet / Device:
    nc
    Well, Netflix is working great..but whenever I try to launch my app market I get "The application Marker (process com.android.vending) has stopped unexpectedly. Please try again." Any ideas? Is this because I modified build.prop? I tried restoring the backup in root explorer and it still didn't work..

    Thanks in advance!

    [EDIT] I cleared the cache and data and then rebooted, didn't work. I found somewhere that you aren't supposed to change the brand, so I set it back to bn and rebooted, now market seems to be working. Weird...
     
    Last edited: May 13, 2011

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
android netflix error please make sure your device has network connectivity and the date and time settings are accurate
,
error please make sure that your device has network connectivity and that the date and time settings are correct on netf
,
netflix accurate time and date settings tablet
,
netflix app please make sure your device has network connectivity
,
netflix date and time settings are accurate
,
netflix error please make sure your device has network connectivity
,
netflix kindle make sure date time settings accurate
,
netflix please make sure date and time
,
netflix please make sure that your device has network
,
netflix please make sure that your device has network and the date and time settings are accurate
,
netflix please make sure your device has network connectivity
,

please make sure that your device has network connectivity

,
please make sure that your device has network connectivity and date and time settings are accurate
,
please make sure that your device has network connectivity and the date and time settings and accurate netflix kindle fi
,
please make sure that your device has network connectivity netflix
,
please make sure your device has network connectivity netflix
,
xda touchpad netflix error data and time accurate