Weird battery usage with workaround

Discussion in 'Gome Flytouch II' started by DieH@rd, Dec 26, 2010.

  1. finitol

    finitol Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    DieH@rd.. did you notice any substancial change on battery life after hack???

    Please, tell us...
     
  2. Richardo Crispus

    Richardo Crispus Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Tablet / Device:
    Gome Flytouch II Aka Wowpad
    I'm trying this now. I personally recommend (and am) changing the file names to phone.apk.txt and TelephonyProvider.apk.txt It's just to ensure we remember what they should be and also means it's easy to remember what to turn it back to (sounds foolish but I've learned leassions like this the hard way)

    Will report back soon if it works,
    Richardo
     
  3. Richardo Crispus

    Richardo Crispus Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Tablet / Device:
    Gome Flytouch II Aka Wowpad
    Ok, done. How do I remove the no signal indicator from the top toolbar(between muted sound and the battery indicator)?

    Thank you,
    Richardo
     
  4. Richardo Crispus

    Richardo Crispus Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Tablet / Device:
    Gome Flytouch II Aka Wowpad
    Ok, since I did this fix the app for this forum keeps crashing... Anyone else got this fault?

    Thanks,
    Richardo
     
  5. johnfrankiej

    johnfrankiej Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    Mornington, VIC, Australia
    Tablet / Device:
    Flytouch II
    Hey Richardo,

    I've just renamed files and now experiencing the same as you. Let me know if you find a solution.
    Would also like to remove the reception bars between wifi and battery indicator.
    I'll post if I find a solution.

    John
     
    • Like Like x 2
  6. DieH@rd

    DieH@rd Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    NULL
    Preinstalled Youtube app stopped working after i disabled Wowhome and phone apks.
     
  7. johnfrankiej

    johnfrankiej Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    Mornington, VIC, Australia
    Tablet / Device:
    Flytouch II
    I've turned back on phone apks and restarted, youtube and forum app now working.
    Wowhome still disabled (running LauncherPro).

    I suspect youtube and forum app were reading phone state, however with the apk not working there was a conflict.
    Need to make a mod on the framework, but I'm not at that level yet (trying to learn though).

    John

    Sent from my sdk using Android Tablet Forum App
     
  8. finitol

    finitol Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Me too. Market.youtube and gtalk...... any idea??

    SportlifePress.com Tu portal del Motor
     
  9. Richardo Crispus

    Richardo Crispus Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Tablet / Device:
    Gome Flytouch II Aka Wowpad
    Flytouch 2 (wowpad, haipad etc etc) battery usage is unaffected as far as I can tell, it does make the battery usage breakdown reasonably reliable but that's the only change...

    Hope this helps,
    Richardo
     
  10. johnfrankiej

    johnfrankiej Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    Mornington, VIC, Australia
    Tablet / Device:
    Flytouch II
    I'll second that.
     
  11. OffWorld

    OffWorld Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    460
    Likes Received:
    67
    Trophy Points:
    210
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    Tablet / Device:
    Haipad M701-R, Augen Gentouch 78 (returned it)
    After living with no Phone.apk for a couple weeks on my Haipad (and yes YouTube app crashes, but I've had no issues with forum app) I'm turning them back on. I think my tablet gets the same benefit by simply being diligent about keeping it in "Airplane Mode" all the time.
     
  12. mid

    mid Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    NULL
    I've also removed all apk's related to phone and can't really tell if it helped or not. Battery life is really bizarre because the first half of the battery drains much more quickly than the second one.
    The other thing that really pounds me is the standby draining. More precisely battery is losing around 10% capacity while on standby. Device is also getting mildly warm. I've been looking at the processes and can't really blame anything but the lack of speed reduction of the processor itself. It seems that the constant 800Mhz is killing any possibility of long standby. SetCpu doesn't seem to work, so I'll try look into it. I've beed having this draining no matter what firmware I put. How is your standby time?
     
  13. don.fief

    don.fief Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Location:
    Albany, Oregon
    Tablet / Device:
    WOWPAD
    Mine is read only, and the rename option is blanked out... How did you rename it?

    Don

    Dang. Didn't mean to be 'that guy' who didn't learn from previous posts... Never mind...
     
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2011
  14. cruxader

    cruxader Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    NULL

    Yup. That is my main beef with the FT2. If only they can reduce the standby current drain, I would be a happy camper. Seems like all the current crop of Android tablets running 2.2 and below suffers from the same problem. Same issue with my old FT1. Until they fix this problem, Android will always struggle with battery life.
     
  15. uplade3

    uplade3 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    751
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    210
    Location:
    Asheville N.C.
    Tablet / Device:
    Flytouch II/SuperPAD Droid Charge/Razr, Galaxy S4
    Deleting the stock widgets and using a different launcher really helps too!

    Sent from my SuperPAD using Android Tablet Forum
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

cell standby android tab