what happens to settings/saves/data when you delete an app?

Discussion in 'Android Tablet Q&A' started by brandysnap, Aug 7, 2011.

  1. brandysnap

    brandysnap Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    for instance, i play a large rpg for a few hours but then need to make room for another app.

    if i uninstall that large rpg, does the save data also get deleted (ala ios4) or are saves kept somewhere safe (ala psp/ps3/any normal console) ?
     
  2. gpier66

    gpier66 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    I think it would depend on the AP. There are several that I have reinstalled later and my old settings had been retained. I see that there are system folders for a number of aps I has uninstalled, so as long as those folders remain, it seems possible to retain settings, if AP is wired for retention.

    Sent from my A500
     
  3. luzbug

    luzbug Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    wales
    Tablet / Device:
    advent vega
    you can go into app manager before you uninstall and hit the clear data button first i guess. dunno only had an android device for two days so new to it.
     

Share This Page