What is the difference between the 7015 and the 7015a??

Discussion in 'Coby Generation 1' started by XXchocolatetouchXX, May 8, 2011.

  1. XXchocolatetouchXX

    XXchocolatetouchXX Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Peoria, IL
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros MID7015A
    I have heard ppl tlk about the 7015 and the 7015a and wanted to kno the difference between them? I just got mine this week, so is it a 7015 or 7015a?
    would someone plz help me out
     
  2. juandpineiro

    juandpineiro Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Location:
    Venezuela
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros MID 7015
    Well, 7015 and 7015A is just the firmware that comes with the tablet. Mine was 7015. I downloaded the newest firmware update from cobyusa.

    To find out which one your tablet has, go to Settings > About phone > Firmware. It should say 7015 or 7015A.

    The only difference is that when trying to install ClockWorkMod Recovery on the the device, 7015A takes an additional step, to copy a missing file called flash_image. Check for posts related to rooting and installing recovery.
     
  3. XXchocolatetouchXX

    XXchocolatetouchXX Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Peoria, IL
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros MID7015A
    Ok thank you so much, so once it has the update its a 7015a and not the 7015?
     
  4. driggs

    driggs Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby 7015A
    Correct, but I would still check the version under settings to make sure everything worked OK. I can also verify that if you update to 7015A, you must do step 15 here for the ClockworkMod Recovery.
     
  5. XXchocolatetouchXX

    XXchocolatetouchXX Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Peoria, IL
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros MID7015A
    Ok thank you, i was going to watch a vid i found online and the person said he had the update so i wanted to make sure that when i was a 7015A, everyone was referring to the updated kyros
     
  6. tipstir

    tipstir Senior Member Developer

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,505
    Likes Received:
    110
    Trophy Points:
    162
    Location:
    USA
    Tablet / Device:
    COBY KYROS 7015 | 7015A
    One it's newer
    Two is a bit faster
    Three to get clockword mod on it you have to do it this way.. I have it and posted a way to do it here..

    I've done it on my 7015A works like a lucky charm! Good luck!
     
  7. XXchocolatetouchXX

    XXchocolatetouchXX Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Peoria, IL
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros MID7015A
    Ok thanks tipstir
     
  8. XXchocolatetouchXX

    XXchocolatetouchXX Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Peoria, IL
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros MID7015A
    Just to clarify, if you get the tablet, in my instance, and it is the 7015A out of the box, do i need to run the update or is it pre-installed on the tablet?
     
  9. tipstir

    tipstir Senior Member Developer

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,505
    Likes Received:
    110
    Trophy Points:
    162
    Location:
    USA
    Tablet / Device:
    COBY KYROS 7015 | 7015A
    The update was already on the device. I got mine last month. Same as 7015 was during the past winter which I got that one. The 7005 in Oct didn't have update.
     
  10. XXchocolatetouchXX

    XXchocolatetouchXX Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Peoria, IL
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros MID7015A
    ok cool, i got mine this week, but havent been able to use it since it is a bday present and my fam wont let me have it ahead of time. (hafta wait til wednesday which isnt bad) i got a card and expected to put the update on the device, but now will have to delete update from card, from now on all i have to do is root it!
     
  11. driggs

    driggs Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby 7015A
    Tipster, interesting that the one you got last month had the patch. I just got mine on Friday and it was still 7015. Of course, mine was probably sitting in a warehouse somewhere for a few months first. Anyway the patch and rooting worked FINE, so I am not complaining!
     
  12. XXchocolatetouchXX

    XXchocolatetouchXX Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Peoria, IL
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros MID7015A
    Where did u get urs from? I ordered mine from walmart.com since it was the most convenient for me. I already had a walmart account online, and didnt want to make another with some other company. It was also pretty cheap from walmart, and i like their return policy. If they come from different places, they couldve sat longer, and not been sold, so i was just curious where u got urs from.
     
  13. driggs

    driggs Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby 7015A
    Got it from Adorama. Never dealt with them before, but they seemed decent. Hopefully, if I have to return it, they will replace it...
     
  14. XXchocolatetouchXX

    XXchocolatetouchXX Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Peoria, IL
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros MID7015A
    yeah if they didnt let u return it that would be terrible. I have never heard of adorama so i do not kno how they operate. i just hope mine isnt a dud.
     
  15. XXchocolatetouchXX

    XXchocolatetouchXX Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Peoria, IL
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros MID7015A
    I got mine from walmart like I said, and it was already updated. It came ready and all I had to do was put my own stuff on it.

    Sent from my MID7015A using Android Tablet Forum App
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

cobyusa update 7015a

,

what is the difference between coby 7015 and coby 7015b