What'a Your Battery Life Like?

Discussion in 'Coby Generation 1' started by Sue7M3, Jan 11, 2011.

  1. willber

    willber Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Mississauga Canada
    Using Terminal Emulator I was able to kill the two phone apk's
    The two files are Phone.APK and TelephonyProvider.apk (there was a typo previously as TelphoyProvider.apk)
    I wonder if there is other phone apk's and nonsence that should be killed...?
     
  2. wagadesa

    wagadesa Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60

    Interestingly - when I do this the YouTube app stops working. When I undo this the YouTube apps works again.
     
  3. cobykyros

    cobykyros Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Tablet / Device:
    coby kyros 7015
    I have the same problem with the YouTube app not working. How do you undo a mv command in the terminal emulator?
     
  4. willber

    willber Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Mississauga Canada
    I believe you would just use the mv command again but rename the .bak that you renamed to .apk
    keep it in the same directory.
     
  5. cobykyros

    cobykyros Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Tablet / Device:
    coby kyros 7015
    Thank You Willber!!!! I wasn't sure what was causing the youtube problem until I saw your post. It works like a charm.
     
  6. BKenney

    BKenney Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Florida
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros MID7015
    Hm, renaming the Phone.apk seems to have killed the Youtube app for me as well. When I went to the Youtube site and tried starting a video from there the Sysdev or native video player wouldn't work either. I wonder what the Phone.apk service/app has to do with videos?
     
  7. cobykyros

    cobykyros Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Tablet / Device:
    coby kyros 7015
    The strange thing about renaming the Phone.apk to Phone.bak is that it did not affect my Cnet.tv video playback. It must have something to with the permission agreement you have with the youtube.apk and certain other apk's.
     
  8. Sue7M3

    Sue7M3 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    The Big Apple
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color (Rooted)
    I'm trying to decide if I should un-rename the phone app. I am not a heavy YouTube user but it would be nice to have the app work. Isn't it supposed to work in SkyFire? Anyone tried it?
     
  9. sndplace

    sndplace Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Mt Vernon,NY
    Tablet / Device:
    Epic4g-Coby MID7015
    loaded skyfire and cant play videos. i tried the first two on the page..
    I also downloaded Opera mini and tried to view through this but when I clicked on a video it asked me to use skyfire or sysdev. I clicked on sysdev but nothing.
    I then used skyfire and it worked. Its slow and starts off with a violet color and buffers like crazy.but as im typing this im watching a video on the 7025 coby tablet

    I just tried Opera mobile samething, you still have to use Skyfire but seamed alot faster and way less buffering.

    Ultralight brower was fast but did not play videos.

    lol should have just tried this. click the youtube app use skyfire, after clicking on a video it will ask you again to use Skyfire. buffers abit but picture quality was best this way.
     
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2011
  10. wagadesa

    wagadesa Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    The 7025 was just announced at CES 2011, so how is it? Does it have Gingerbread loaded?


    Sent from my MID7015 using Tapatalk
     
  11. Clancy

    Clancy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    70
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ U.S.
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros
    For less typing... use the cd command.

    cd system/app

    then type ls to make sure you're there. Makes renaming a lot easier not having to type the path.

    mv app1.apk app1.bak

    Clancy
     
  12. l_n

    l_n Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    99
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    TN, USA
    Tablet / Device:
    Mid7015
    pwd is more useful for checking what directory you're in. (it's short for 'print working directory')
     
  13. willber

    willber Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Mississauga Canada
    ah all this command line typing brings back warm fuzzy DOS days.
    Thanks for the commands, it really helps as I'm not linux aware.

    I noticed my tablet was battery dead this morning.
    I usually plug it in before bed. Well I had a full charge last night so I didn't charge over night.
    Soooo... I guess my little Wake Up problem is still there as the tablet must have been waking up during the night like crazy to discharge it completely dead.
    I suggest everyone leave their unit charged but unplugged over night to see if the tablet is waking up repeatably. So strange this.
     
  14. Ridgeland

    Ridgeland Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Ridgeland, WI, USA
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby MID7015-4G
    I left mine on and unplugged overnight a few days back. It does pop-up a screen now and then. The next day there was still 60% battery left, I think it was near 100% to start.
    willber,
    You can have some more fun by adding Linux to a PC. It's free and doesn't require that you remove Windows. For Mac I'm not sure the ropes...
    I have Slitaz-Linux running on an old Pentium-5 with a 200MHz processor and 256MB of RAM. Any machine with 512MB of RAM should run Ubuntu fine.
    Although Linux can be almost totally GUI, it does bring back memories of the DOS days when you could get things done with batch files, just like pwd, mv, cd etc here.
     
  15. BKenney

    BKenney Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Florida
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros MID7015
    Linux is always awesome but

    Working in a forum to mod and potentially improve any electronic gadget > linux; any day. LOL
     

Share This Page