white screne

Discussion in 'Coby Generation 1 Technical' started by spicemon, Apr 18, 2011.

  1. spicemon

    spicemon Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    brooklyn
    Tablet / Device:
    kyros 7015
    hey guys last night i used my kyros 7015 to go on facebook and it was fine now i turn it on and its only a white screen i tried resetting it but it doesn't work it is rooted and on honeycomb i did every thing from this website


    any ideas

    yes i know i spelled screen wrong
     
    Last edited: Apr 18, 2011
  2. popeye1128

    popeye1128 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Arkansas
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby MID 7015
    It doesn't sound good if the hard reset button won't fix it. Have you tried holding the back button and power button on startup to see if you can get the recovery screen? If you can't get to that it sounds like the GPU is toast or the driver files so scrambled they aren't working.

    Don't know if it is related at all but my wife got a nasty virus on her laptop while surfing yesterday and I think one of the sites she visited was Facebook.
     
  3. ULTRAMAN1

    ULTRAMAN1 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    70
    Location:
    NULL
    My X5A had a white screen on Sat. night so I left it unplug and it ran out of battery so then I hook it up and re-booted and everything was ok.
     
  4. LarryS

    LarryS Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros 7015
    If you can get to Recovery, use both factory reset & cache delete on the main page, then Dalvik cache clear & battery stats reset on the Advanced page. Silver button for back to the main page & reboot. IF you have a system it will boot you into the original basic.
    Goodluck!

    Sent from my Kyros 7015 using the Android Tablet Forum App powered by Tapatalk.
     
  5. Jory76

    Jory76 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Location:
    USA
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros 7024
    Someone else was having this problem over at XDA. I am pretty sure they had to crack it open and reseat the video ribbon cable.
     
  6. spicemon

    spicemon Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    brooklyn
    Tablet / Device:
    kyros 7015

    ok witch ribbon is it?
     
  7. spicemon

    spicemon Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    brooklyn
    Tablet / Device:
    kyros 7015
    ok it is now dead but when i reboot it still doesn't work i lot the warranty papers so im out of luck is there any way i can restore it to factory data using the computer only?
     
  8. BKenney

    BKenney Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Florida
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros MID7015
    If its the internal hardware (like the video ribbon), restoring to factory setings won't do anything.

    Do a forum search there should be a thread on using adb via a PC to do a factory reset.

    Sent from my MID7015A
     
  9. MichaelC

    MichaelC Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Birmingham, AL
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby MID7015

    I had a similar problem some time back. The screen went out completely and there were some of those white screen moments. I got ADB running and Fastbooted the system back to factory setting (I think) before sending it off to Coby, 6 weeks later I got a new (or new referb) one back. I think dinking around with the software is not so bad, but if you crack it open looking for that ribbon cable the warranty will be void.

    Call Coby tech support and start with them they will want to take you through a few trouble shooting steps. Other than the wait for my replacement, I was happy with the way they handled my issue.
     
    Last edited: Apr 26, 2011

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

how do i fix a coby kyros with a white screen